We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic we will be back in the future” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckingham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckingham Lodge
Ranked #34 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic we will be back in the future”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

great place to stay, very clean ,lovely food we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: family room was a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BEX117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    32
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
95
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We only met Steve but he couldn't have been more helpful. Steve and Nicola stepped in to save us as the B&B we had booked let us down at the last minute and we had a wedding to attend.
We had 3 rooms for our party, two doubles and a single. The standard of decoration was good with modern bathrooms and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was good and plentiful.
The area is very quiet but close to the town with plenty fo restaurants and pubs within walking distance
I did find the rooms a little on the small side, Ok for a couple of nights when we were out with family all the time. I wouldn't like to spend a week in such a small room although I think some of the other rooms are a better size. Value for money it was very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50_s0methings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

A very friendly guest house with a comfortable atmosphere. Food was excellent and rooms spotlessly clean. We highly recommend Buckingham Lodge and would have no hesitation staying again. First class all round.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stayed at the Buckingham last weekend with my family and will be going back by the end of the summer, we stayed with our 6 year old & 3 month baby. And my son is already asking when are we going back dad. Big thank you to steve and nikki. The family room was excellent and the breakfast was 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Face4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We found Buckingham Lodge a fantastic place to stay. It is in a great location, close to all amenities and attractions.
Steve and Nicola are great hosts, very friendly and welcoming. They will advise of great trips out and places to visit.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable as is all the Lodge. The Lodge is furnished with quality furnishings throughout which makes for a comfortable stay. The breakfast is great, well worth getting up for. Would definitely stay there again.

Brian, Sharon and Family

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 503790Icf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

My wife and i have just stopped with Steve and Nicola for a second time with our three young children and we cannot praise both them and their lovely guest house highly enough. They are great hosts who make you feel more like friends then guests and their knowledge of the area and places to visit was invaluable to us. With young children the location of Buckingham Lodge is ideal and the family suite that we stayed in was immaculately clean and spacious. Each morning we had one of Nicola's well cooked breakfast 's that set us up nicely for the day ahead. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and i know my children are already counting down the days to when we see Steve and Nicola again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

We had a 2 night break at The Buckingham Lodge while in Torquay for an art exhibition and found it perfect in every way. We were given a very warm welcome, the room was beautiful and the full English breakfast superb.We look forward to a return visit and would highly recommend the Buckingham Lodge to anyone visiting Torquay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aled31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#42 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Norwood Guest House
The Norwood Guest House
#50 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#28 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#19 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silverlands Guest House
Silverlands Guest House
#36 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham Lodge

Property: Buckingham Lodge
Address: Buckingham Lodge Falkland Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckingham Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
friendly, stylish guest house offering bed and breakfast in Torquay. 8 minute walk to the train station, seafront and beach at Torre Abbey Sands. 9 beautifully decorated rooms all with ensuite bathrooms, free wi-fi, coffee and tea making facilities, complimentary washing products, flatscreen t.v., hairdryer and iron facilities. Freshly cooked locally sourced breakfast to start the day with lighter options available. All dietary requirements can be catered for. Free car parking on site and also opposite the property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Buckingham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing