We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break in Torquay”
Review of Buckingham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckingham Lodge
Ranked #53 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First visit to Torquay so was really looking forward to it, Buckingham Lodge was a ideal location to stay just about ten minutes walk to the beach and probably about another 10 to 15 minutes to the harbour.Steve and Nicola made us very welcome when we arrived offering us a very welcome cup of tea or coffee.The rooms were very clean spacious and with a hairdryer television, tea and coffee making facilities and use of a iron,small bathroom but everything one would need it was great. All the rooms are different so they can cater for all types of familes etc. The full english cooked breakfast was of a very high quality food and plenty of it.If you didnt want to walk to the harbour there was a bus stop just up the road a number 32 which run about every 20 minutes so couldnt have chose a better spot to be staying.

Room Tip: Phone up Steve and Nicola direct and they can advise you of a room to suit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderful45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamlodge, Owner at Buckingham Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We are so pleased you had a lovely stay in Torquay and with us at the Buckingham Lodge and thank you for taking the time to submit such a lovely review. Nicky and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Spent the last weekend at Buckingham Lodge. Had. Fantastic stay, the Lodge is close to the sea front and walking distance from the town centre and harbour. The hosts, Nicola and Steve with very hospitable and welcoming. Great breakfast, clean, spacious rooms well decorated. Rest of family stayed in family room which was great. Had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend to anyone. Give them a try if you are thinking of staying in Torquay.

Room Tip: Two very good family rooms, one with bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights October 2013. A last minute get away and a lovely, relaxing getaway at that! Steve and Nicola were really friendly, on hand to tell us directions to the best places! Breakfast was just what we needed to set us up for the day. We will definitely be visiting them again.

Room Tip: Room no 1 was very spacious and fantastic view of a local park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Nicola and Steve (and not forgetting Murphy) provided us with a great home from home experience. Got a very nice welcome on arrival together with a much needed mug of coffee. Room was very comfortable with all required amenities of en-suite, coffee/tea making facilities, television and Wi-Fi. Only a few minutes walk down to the sea and the walk was required after a very tasty and filling breakfast. Our hosts always had time to stop and chat and brief us on the area. All in all we had a great time and would recommend Buckingham Lodge in Torquay to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamlodge, Owner at Buckingham Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We enjoyed meeting you both and are very grateful for you to take the time to submit a review. Murphy is still the same, bit crazy but lovable none the less. We hope that you will come and stay again in the future and look forward to welcoming you both. Regards Nicky and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nicola and Steve were such wonderful hosts. They were so understanding about my personal situation (my wife gave birth to our daughter over a month early). The rooms are great, the cook breakfast was excellent and there was a lovely bottle of Balvenie behind the bar.
Thank you and I would totally recommend that if anyone wanted to stay at a B&B in Torquay, it should be Buckingham Lodge

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dan3376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamlodge, Owner at Buckingham Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Dan,

Many thanks for such a lovely review. We're so pleased your baby girl is doing well and hope both mum and your little one will be home soon so normal family life can begin!

Hopefully you will all be able to stay sometime in the future. Good luck with everything.
regards
Nicola and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for our second visit after stating here 2 years previously. Steve and Nicola as nice as they were before and always go out of their way to make you welcome. Nice comfortable rooms and a great breakfast. Good location with a 5 min walk to the beach and a 10-15 min walk into the centre of town.
Would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourth_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamlodge, Owner at Buckingham Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit another great review, it was so lovely to meet you and your family again, nice to catch up on the children and what they are up to now and of course putting the world to rights! We hope that you will come and visit again soon - hopefully in a month with a bit more warmth and sunshine. Take care. Nicola and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Nicola and Steve were perfect hosts during our 4 night stay in early December. The en-suite room was excellent and the breakfast ample and very tasty and they catered successfully for a gluten free diet. The extra king size bed was so comfortable and relaxing. This guest house is convenient for walking to the beach, marina, train station and shops. If you can, eat at The Ocean Drive restaurant, only a 2 minute walk away. When we visit Torbay again we will stay with Nicola and Steve. Thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#25 of 86 in Torquay
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#27 of 150 in Torquay
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wellsway
The Wellsway
#52 of 150 in Torquay
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor House
Grosvenor House
#42 of 150 in Torquay
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crimdon Dene Guest House
Crimdon Dene Guest House
#58 of 150 in Torquay
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#34 of 150 in Torquay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham Lodge

Address: Buckingham Lodge Falkland Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £42 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckingham Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
friendly, stylish guest house offering bed and breakfast in Torquay. 8 minute walk to the train station, seafront and beach at Torre Abbey Sands. 9 beautifully decorated rooms all with ensuite bathrooms, free wi-fi, coffee and tea making facilities, complimentary washing products, flatscreen t.v., hairdryer and iron facilities. Freshly cooked locally sourced breakfast to start the day with lighter options available. All dietary requirements can be catered for. Free car parking on site and also opposite the property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buckingham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing