We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place.”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #5 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Just got back from a stay with Les and Marion had a great time wonderful hosts gave great advice for meals and places to visit. Room was excellent bathroom and toiletries best we have had. A great base to explore Devon and as stated before great breakfast and chat every morning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

'The Charterhouse must be a term describing a type of monastery. Although “The Charterhouse” is not, however, the devotion of Marion and Les (the owners) to help you and make your staying there a nice experience is far from unnoticed; they enjoy their job and they would respect your expenses. A very nice place (well designed), (real) family friendly and positioned in a very picturesque environment which you would be able to look from every window of your room. Food is great and the tips for the area are equally good. All in all, not a luxurious one, however, luxury and quality are not synonymous. I highly recommend the place (except to people that pay attention to superficial details).
Thank you Marion and Les for your effort – keep up the good work.
P.S: Book through their site (cheaper) and call Marion in advance (especially for families) to allocate you the best (suitable) room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikos339M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We had a good time with our two year old toddlers. The Charterhouse was a perfect place to stay and it gave a very authentic feeling of an english bed and breakfast. The staff was friendly and always helpful. The location is quite central in the area. Just make sure to get the directions, since the GPS will send you to Cockington Village and not to Charterhouse. Yet this was not problem since Marion, the charming landlady, did quickly guide us to Charterhouse.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuchANiceCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Having read through all the reviews of the Charterhouse Hotel it seems that everyone is of
the same opinion that the hotel is first class. We received a wonderful welcome by Marion
and Les on arrival. Our superior room was very nice and spacious with lovely furnishings
and a large modern shower, no restictions for you elbows when washing your hair.
The location of The Cahrterhouse is in a quiet area yet close to the sea front.
Breakfast was a thing to look forward to and we had lots of choice, one which should suit everyone. We enjoyed our stay at the Charterhouse and hope to return ASAP.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omen480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed in the ground floor Garden suite with children aged 3 and 6. A room with its own exterior front door opening onto the garden, as the room name would suggest. Lovely toiletries, plenty of towels, two radiators, comfy beds, plug socket for night light by one of the beds. Lovely breakfast in a room decorated with a Greek theme. Wonderful Marmalade, a wealth of local advice and knowledge from Marion. A characterful English seaside stay. If you visit the local fishing village of Brixham hoping to eat at a restaurant in the evening, bear in mind that the majority of eateries don't allow children under the age of 12.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kams5747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Chaterhouse with her parents for 4 nights. We booked on the same day we arrived. Marion and Les are wonderful hosts and welcomed us into their home. The atmosphere that is created by them encourages other guest to talk and share experiences over breakfasts instead of sitting in silence. Now... I don't know were to start on the breakfasts... they are cooked with fresh and local produce and Marion always made sure that I had enough to eat and even super- sized my breakfasts on the days following those which we walked to Brixham. I miss them already and my wife better pick up her game! Rooms were of a very high standard, comfortable beds and huge fluffy towels.

We had some good recommendations for a pub meals dinners at the hole in the wall and the Cary Arms.

Next time we are back in Torquay and the Uk we will be booking in with Marion and Les.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandACanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

the room was very clean and spacious, the breakfast wasexcellent and the stay was very good value for money.we will definatly go back in the not to distant future

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,113 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
303 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#7 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £53 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing