We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest welcome we have ever had in a hotel”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The friendliest welcome we have ever had in a hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We had chosen Charterhouse after reading reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. On arrival, the human dynamo that is Marion greeted us with biscuits and hot drinks, most welcome after our journey. She then asked us what we wanted to visit in the area and gave us appropriate leaflets and advice. We had booked a superior room which was well furnished with enough hanging space and lots of drawers. Everything was very clean Our room looked out over the garden and Torbay. We found the location quiet and slept like logs! The hotel was not full on the first two nights of our stay, so breakfasts were cooked to order. When the dining room was full and the breakfast buffet in use, with frequent replenishments, Marion cooked our daughter's egg individually. Nothing was too much trouble for Marion and Les and we felt like old friends by the end of our visit. When Marion discovered it was my birthday on the last day of our week, I came back to the room to find chocolates and a card.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjb_71_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    35
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
222
448
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We loved our room, with an adjoining room for our children. Everything was beautifully presented, clean and tidy. The rooms were spacious and the breakfasts were wonderful.
Our hosts went out of their way to accomodate our needs and were helpful, offering advice and information on sights and attractions in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

It was our first time to Torquay for a short weekend break and like many others we rely on the reviews given on tripadvisor as a good base to make our choice and the Charterhouse Hotel does not disappoint. What strikes you is the sheer enthusiasm of Les and Marion from when we first turned up with a nice cup of tea after a very long journey, a restaurant recommended and booked by Les, (Bianci's - highly recommended) along with a cab, right throughout our stay with suggestions on where to go to visit and eat, to the moment we left. We stayed in the Riveria Suite, a newly refurbished room, with its modern bathroom and main room along with nice views of the surrounding area. The first night we slept like babies, perfect after a few ciders at the Drum Inn, a must to go for a quite drink or a nice meal, situated within the beautiful Cockington Court, a Saxon village just minutes walk for the Charterhouse. We certainly enjoyed our short time here and would recommend the Chartehouse to others with these thoughts in consideration, the Riveria Suite was lovely but for the price we were a tiny bit disappointed, this is only based on other trips we have had that we have paid similar prices for. The Charterhouse operates a buffet for breakfast which was fresh and lovely, both Les & Marion making sure there was enough food to go around. Again for the price it would of been nice to have the food made to order and a wider range of hot food, however to be fair we never asked and I am sure both Les & Marion would accommodate if asked. The only other small gripe is that the second night we were awoken around 6am from guests with children above our room running around (we think!). You are close to other rooms and can hear your fellow guests without listening too hard. Overall if you are looking for a home from home atmosphere and place in Torquay away from rows of less desirable B&Bs around Torquay, The Charterhouse fits the bill nicely!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattandAnna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We met up for a family gathering in Torquay. Having lived in Torquay for a long time we knew we were in for a great stay as for the location; only a stroll away from the glorious, 'must-visit' Cockington Park, a few minutes on foot from the beach, a comfortable walk into town but we didn't know how very good we could have it.
Marion and Les are the most welcoming hosts you can imagine; they care for you to give you a real stay that feels like being 'home from home'.
We had a spotless wonderful room with a sea view and a bathroom large enough to roller-skate in, extra large beds, all the little bits like tea tray and glasses, lovely seating, it was tops of the pops!
There is a cosy garden with a (at our stay still covered) swimming pool and a small but cozy conservatory. Nobody needed it because we had glorious sunshine most of the time!
Walking into town and back for shopping, visits (do not forget to see Living Coast), a boat trip and meals, takes you some 20' max and we felt it provided us with the needed digestion time - it also takes the stress away from having to park your car (quite expensive) and watch the clock. The strand is great for sitting, walking, shell hunting and watching the world go by.
Usually we stay with friends when in Devon but should we ever come back for a longer stay, we know where to go! Thank you friends, you did us good!
Sorry for late review; TripAdvisor wouldn't accept my description of the conservatory... :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiki-Vol-au-Vent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Marion is a delightful host. She is very helpful and had tea and coffee served to us when we arrived in the afternoon. she also guided us on things to do around torquay during our stay. the rooms are spacious and facilities very good. the nearby Cockington village is charming. Marion is able to cater for vegetarian breakfasts and they are hearty.

Room Tip: book directly through the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRamesh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2011

My family and I have just returned from a weekend break at the Charterhouse.
Like all the other visitors we weren't disappointed.
It was 5star accommodation at a very reasonable price.
We were welcomed by Marion late on Friday with a lovely pot of tea. This set the trend for the rest of our stay. Both Les and Marion couldn't have been more hospitable.
We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petergoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

For many years we have stayed at Charterhouse and loved it.Now there is the luxurious Riviera Suite.Elegant bedroom with two huge windows ,super king size bed,views over the garden and sea.The bathroom is enormous,with walk in shower,very large bath,mood lighting,thick towels and bathrobes,the height of luxury.Marion and Les have worked very hard to totally transform this room in to what it was always 'meant to be'We just celebrated a double birthday here, will be back in June for more pampering.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelvilleKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 149 in Torquay
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing