We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #8 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
leyland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We have just got back from our fantastic holiday in Torquay,what made it more wonderful was this delightful Hotel.
We got home looked at our Diary for next year and booked another 2 weeks!! Marion and Les who own and run the hotel are lovely people,couldnt have been nicer.Our rooms were beautiful ,and quiet with everything that we needed.The breakfasts are awesome ,with everything freshly cooked and lovely and hot.
Marion also makes her own Bramble Jam ,which you just have to try ,its delicious!!!
The hotel is SO near to the centre and surrounding beaches that you dont need a car.
We loved every minute and we will be seeing them next April AND August.
Thankyou Marion and Bob we think your wonderful .J Swift and family.

Room Tip: We recommend room 16 for families .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    36
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
229
462
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stopped in room no 15 - a superior room of the hotel. The room was clean bright and spacious with a big bay window. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. There was a ensuite with a shower. Again this was nice and clean and the shower was spacious with plenty of hot water. No complaints at all. The breakfast provided was a buffet style, with as much as you can eat of traditionally english locally sourced eggs bacon sausages etc. Cereal fresh fruit and fruit juice were also available and the hotel provided home made marmalade, jam and bread which all tasted delicious. The hotel is family run and we had a warm greeting from the landlady Marion who described the local area over a nice cup of tea and was always on hand if needed to answer any questions we had about the area. We also had a quick dip in the outside pool, which was nice and clean and heated! All in all we had a wonderful stay at this excellent hotel with lovely hosts and I'd recommend it to anyone. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room (No. 15) was very good, & we were shown No 14 which was excellent with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ButterflyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Marion & Les are a superb couple so very friendly and welcoming we stayed for two nights wish we has stayed longer our room was very clean and inviting they could not do enough for us including our two dogs, morning breakfast was of a very high standard the best B&B we have ever stayed at, we will being visiting again, our two dogs pippa & sonny enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The Hotel was in an ideal location. The room was very spacious, very clean, very comfortable and had everything we needed. We received a really warm welcome and Marion and Les could not be more helpful. The breakfast was exceptional... we would definitely stay here again.

Lorraine & Nic
Yorkshire & Scotland

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Fantastic hotel, Very warm & friendly..home from home.
Perfect location. lovely gardens & heated pool.
Accommodation fabulous & clean.
Breakfasts are the best ever, so much choice & plenty of it, nothing is to much trouble.
We would recommend this Hotel to friends & family.
Will definitely be back.

Hazel & Megan Blackburn :) Staffordshire

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Just got bk from a week at The Charter House. This is our 3rd yr now n will definitely b returning. From the minute u arrive until u leave Marion n Les make u feel extremely welcome.
The breakfasts are absolutely superb u won't b needing any lunch after. I sampled the home made bread n Les' marmalade and it was beautiful. The location is so handy for everything and there is so much to see n do. The rooms are spotless n there are plenty of little extra like Bee kind products n bottled water.
Can't recommend this accommodation highly enough n won't b disappointed.
Thank u once again Marion, Les & Family.
See u again nxt yr Andy, Viv & Sophie x

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivmidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

From the moment we arrived at the Charterhouse last week for a 4 night stay, Marion, Les and their daughter Georgie could not have made us feel more welcome.
We were greeted with coffee and bicuits and Marion went through all the local directions and places of interest, providing maps and leaflets. Meanwhile, our 2 children were able to unwind from the journey by an eagerly anticipated dip in the pool and a play with the very friendly resident dogs, Phoebe and Toffee.
We had a lovely, spacious and comfortable family suite with beautiful views of the sea. The children were delighted to find chocolate bars waiting for them on their beds!
Breakfast, in our opinion, could not be surpassed! A fantastic choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts and fruit juices. This was followed by an wonderful array of hot food, all locally sourced and of the highest quality, particularly, the bacon, poached eggs and honey glazed sausages (we all loved them!). It's help yourself, so you can eat as much as you like and it certainly keeps you going all day! I mustn't forget the delicious homemade bread, jam and marmalade. Needless to say, I am now on a diet but it was so worth it!
The gardens are delightful and lovely to return to after a day trip, to relax in, while the children swim in the pool.
Marion was born to do this job, absolutely nothing is too much trouble. We were welcomed so warmly that we were sad when it was time to leave. Particularly the children, as Marion was so attentive and kind to them.
We would recommend the Charterhouse to anyone and will definitely be making a return visit ourselves. They just go that extra mile that makes staying there such a pleasure!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,371 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
263 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing