We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Charterhouse
Nearby Hotels
The Marstan(Torquay)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$108
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$173
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Corbyn Head Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
781
36
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
781
36
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscockington villagemarmaladeriviera roomgarden roomb bwater meadowsfamily suitehome from homewarm welcomeperfect hostssea frontbiscuitson arrivalsuperior roomtorquay centreshort walksecond to none
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Well located hotel, easy walk to beach and to Cockington village. We stayed in a garden room and took our dogs who were also made very welcome. The breakfast was delicious with home made bread and jam and our hostess did all she could to make sure everyone had all they needed.

Room Tip: The two garden rooms accept dogs and have patio doors onto the garden so the dogs do not have to walk through the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The room was extremely comfortable if a little dated, but the shower-room was quite small. The proprietress was very helpful and cheerful and gave us good advice about places of interest. The breakfast was plentiful and beautifully presented and cooked, with fresh ingredients. The house could do with a little attention to detail outside, but for the price we paid we felt it was good value for money. It is a little far from the town, but withing walking distance of Cockington Village, which was a delight to visit and the cream teas are superb!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idahohig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We experienced a fantastic 5 days at the B&B.Having stayed in hotels in the past few years whilst traveling in the UK we decided to go for a B&B this time round and were glad that we did.Marion was fantastic, very friendly and energetic and she made us feel very welcome especially as we had our 4 and half month son with us.We found marion to be informative especially about the local attractions and the best places to eat in town, I dont think without her help our trip would have been as half as good. She made us feel at home and so comfortable.
The hotel room was nice and spacious and very clean with a drinks tray provided and even a hairdryer in the drawer! We were given a ground room which was lovely as we had our baby with us and it made our life alot easier.The beds were very comfortable and we were even given a travel cot for our baby which was nice which saved us lugging extra luggage around.The hotel is right next to the sea front and very near to town and local amenities. And the breakfasts provided were out of this world! Amazing! The best breakfast ever such a vast selection to choose from even though we are vegetarian, with fresh bread everyday and home made jams made by the owners.The bramble jam was delicious! We didnt want to leave!
I would definatley recommend this hotel to families with young children and we will definatley be returning to this B&B when we go down to Devon again next year and I cant wait!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lubna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Just returned from a few days here and cannot recommend it enough! We had one of the garden rooms which was brilliant with having a small dog. Marion couldn't do enough to make us welcome and her top tips for places to visit were invaluable and we vistied some lovely places that we might not have found by ourselves. The hotel is on the edge of Cockington Village which is lovely and just a short walk into Torquay. The breakfasts are amazing with a large range of hot and cold choices with a daily 'feature' home made bread. Can't wait to book a return visit soon. Diane and Keith

Room Tip: Garden rooms allow dogs
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dianeo727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Starting off on a trip through Devon and Cornwall we had a quick stop at this Hotel.

We were well received by the owners who are extremely friendly and helpful.

Our room was rather small as was the bathroom (no bath) but everything is clean. All amenities are present but don't expect luxury.

Breakfast is as good as it comes in England, well prepared by the owner himself and fresh.

A lot more could be done with the garden and some parts outside could use a lick of paint but again, as long as you don't expect a palace it is acceptable.

The hotel (we should really say B&B) is not really at walking distance from Torquay so a car is a necesity.

If you don't want the big luxury then the Charterhouse is more than good enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Janil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews