We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #5 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the Charterhouse with two of our friends on the 20th April for three nights. The welcome we received from Marion made us feel at home right away. The rooms were homely, and very clean with all the facilities you could wish for.We are still talking about the Breakfasts, superb, especially the home made jams marmalade and bread made by Les, everything you could possibly want and more is available. Hotel is very central to everything especially the lovely Cockington Village. We will only stay at this Hotel when we visit Torquay again. Well done Marion and Les.

Room Tip: Room number 3 has a huge bed, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

First, Marion and Les are great. They are incredibly thoughtful, helpful and inviting. They made our stay a real pleasure - and very easy with little kids. I find travelling with kids is tough and few hotels are set up to make it easier. The Charterhouse put us in a room with an adjoining single bedroom, so that the adults could stay up beyond 8pm. Makes such a difference. Our stay was lovely and we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here for a 2 day break to visit my brother. and we had the Garden Room although a little snug the room was clean comfotable light and airy with a really lovely shower (most unusual for a room of this size!) Les and Marion are great hosts! and they obviously take great pride in their business and it shows Marion is chatty and helpful. and gives a warm welcome The breakfast is indeed worthy of all the praise we can offer (much better than a more expensive hotel that we stayed at later in the week) Would we stay there again YES most definnitely and we will also recommend to the Family.

Room Tip: Although the Garden Room was lovely the small swimming pool is just outside the door and we would t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blowerAshfordKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My family and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Charterhouse Hotel. We have two young children (2 & 5) and struggled to find a family hotel that would accommodate us all. We booked on reviews alone and we were not disappointed. We stayed in room 16 which is a family room with an interconnecting room for the children. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. Marion & Les are fantastic hosts and immediately made us all feel welcome and relaxed. They were great with the boys and could not do enough to ensure we all had a great holiday. The breakfasts were to die for and Les' home made bread, jams and chutney were just excellent, and those eggs were perfection! So for those who cannot make up your mind about where to stay in Torquay just book it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: For families with young children room 16 has an interconnecting twin room with its own TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deanolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent 4 nights at The Charterhouse and had a wonderful time. Les and Marion are excellent hosts and make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. We especially enjoyed staying in the luxury Riviera Room, which has a wonderful seaview. The room was extremely clean and comfortable, and we were provided with everything we needed. We also enjoyed the home-made bread, marmalades and breakfast chutney made by Les, and of course the selection of food at breakfast. The B&B is situated in a very good location, 2 minutes from the seafront and within easy, flat walking distance of Torquay centre. We were very impressed with the quality of restaurants in Torquay and would recommend the Hole in The Wall, and the No 7 Fish Bistro.
We will definitely return on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The reviews seemed too good to be true - but they were well deserved. We had three nights at the Charterhouse. We'd booked Room 14 (the "Riviera Room"), which was quite large with comfy chairs, a fantastic bed and probably the best bathroom I've ever seen! Breakfast was excellent - cereals, bread (often homemade), fruit and a full English buffet of local produce. On the first morning, we asked for skimmed milk - which they didn't have. However, Marion went out to get some for the rest of our stay, and even put a jug of it in the fridge in our room. We couldn't have been treated any better.
The centre of Torquay is about 20 minutes' walk along the sea front; there is also a bus stop at the end of the street, which is handy for other local towns. Cockington is also worth a visit, and is just a fifteen minute walk.
I can understand now why the Charterhouse has won awards and why nobody has yet given it a bad review. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1968jaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Upon arrival, we were offered a choice of rooms, giving us the option of one that was larger than the room we had originally booked. Then we were treated to a pot of tea in the lounge with Marion, who gave us a map and the benefit of all her local knowledge. The welcome could not have been friendlier. Marion is amazing, so warm and welcoming, couldn't ask for a better host! The room was spotless, warm and quiet. The facilities and finishing touches were all there, even bottles of water were provided in the room.
And then we had breakfast, well, what can I say, no wonder they have just won an award for the breakfast! There was fresh fruit, muesli, little pots of bio drinks, lots of packet cereals, three fruit juices, home made bread, and loads of other breads and rolls and current bread, and brioche! Home made marmalades, but best of all, an array of hot food including honey roast pork award winning sausages, great local bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, hash browns, black pudding and eggs that couldn't have been cooked better if Delia Smith had been in the kitchen! All delivered with a lovely, friendly, conversational appraoch by our hosts. The hot food was put in a heated self-service area, and that meant you could just help yourself to what you liked best. Breakfast was between 8.45am and 9.30am, so it suited us well, and the food was always fresh and at its best.
My husband always values a good place to park his beloved car, which was also catered for here. In terms of location, the Charterhouse is close to the sea, just a few minutes walk to the bottom of the lane, where steps lead down to a shoreline when the tide is lower. Also, just a few minutes walk up the road are the beautiful water meadows, which provide a fabulous walk up to the picturesque village of Cockington, which should not be missed. The walk into Torquay is probably about 20 minutes, we took the car, and one time went on the bus, there is a bus stop at the bottom of the lane very close by, and the railway station is not far either. The bus stop would also take you to Paignton in the other direction.
My husband and I tend to use B & B's two or three times a year, and this is the best one we have been in by far, especially so in relation to the great value for money that we feel we received. We intend to go back again, as there is also so much to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashen-Penadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,459 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 86 in Torquay
1,071 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 150 in Torquay
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £53 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing