We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class, would highly recommend and will definitely be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #4 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First class, would highly recommend and will definitely be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Our room was beautiful - spotlessly clean, great views and some lovely little touches. The hosts were fantastic and made us very welcome, breakfast was excellent - loads of choice including homemade bread & marmalade. We have stayed in lots of hotels and B&B's and this was by far the best. Great value for money - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayjay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    33
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
214
442
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

First stay at The Charterhouse, and definitely won't be my last. From when we arrived to the day we left, Marion and Les made us feel so welcome. Our rooms were excellent, very clean, beds made every day, with tea/coffee facilities replenished every day. The most fabulous breakfasts, and home made bread and marmalade in a word 'devine'. I have stayed at 5* hotels in the past, and Marion and Les' breakfasts are certainly way up there with them, I would go as far to say a 5* plus. I went with my family and they loved the outdoor swimming pool, and patio area if you just wanted to relax. You have secure parking, and two lovely little dogs that are so friendly, my daughters used to play ball with them. Location is good, and not too far to walk into Torquay. You are just up the lane to visit Cockington - which is beautiful. All in all you will not go wrong if you choose The Charterhouse for your stay. Thank you both for making our holiday in Torquay a truly memorable one. Diane

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, which was private, and we had a view of the sea, and the outdoor pool, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Just returned from my third stay at The Charterhouse and the welcome was as warm and friendly as ever. Not much more to say except that the breakfast is without doubt as good as (and better) than any 5* hotel that I've stayed at.

Thank you Marion and Les for looking after me so well !

Bob

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buck4379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed in this B+B in July 2011 for a few nights. The owner is very eager and knows alot about the tourist hotspots. The breakfast was really tasty. We were there for a quiet break just at times felt the owner wants to continously want to be in conversation while having breakfast etc. Trying to get ever guest talking to each other. some couples may love this but you need to consider quiter couples who may not want to get involved.it was a bit of putting. If your not a dog lover this place isnt for you as the owner has two big dogs around the house

Room Tip: very steep stairs some rooms are in the attic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missfuscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Nothing seems to be too much trouble for Marion, who runs this guest house. We were initially attracted to the Charterhouse as they were able to offer gluten free breakfasts. There was a good, tasty choice and our rooms were well decorated, clean and comfortable. But what really made our stay was the hotelier, who clearly loves looking after her guests and always had a cheery smile.

Room Tip: We slept in the attic suite, which was lovely but I wouldn't recommend for a taller than average...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueS021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Charterhouse for 4 nights and could not have been happier with our stay. From our very warm welcome where we were made to feel at home, to the hugs as we left, everything was just perfect. Marion and Les were great hosts and it was like staying with friends. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were plentiful and of excellent quality. Les' homemade bread was wonderful. The location was perfect being just a short stroll from both Cockington village and the centre of Torquay. There is a small outdoor pool and a beatiful sunny lawn for use by the guests. The personal touch we received at the Charterhouse surpasses any hotel we have ever stayed in. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Charterhouse to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

After being let down by another B&B we secured a 2 night stay at the Charterhouse in a superior room. Oh how lucky we were!
From the minute you arrive it is apparent the owners Les & Marion leave no stone unturned to make you feel welcome.We were shown to our room {15} which was very well appointed and cleaned to perfection. We quickly settled in and went downstairs to be met with iced juice and a complete guide to the local area complete with maps and guides.
The house is situated in a quiet area but still close enough to all amenities. The 15 minute stroll to Cockington Village is a good way of walking off the famous Charterhouse breakfast complete with home made bread and jams (courtesy of Les).
To sum up we will return as do so many others and would like to take the opportunity to thank Marion & Les for a relaxing stay in well above average surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing