We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #8 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Without doubt the best hotel by a mile we have ever stayed in. Right from the start the warm welcome with drinks and crisps right through to the hugs goodbye. Marion is just about everything you could ask for as a hostess very friendly and helpful.
I think it's the attention to detail that sets this hotel apart from the others. The little complimentary chocolate treats on the bed, the higher standard cookies and soap products, the extra large towels, the fridge in our family room......i could go on!
The hotel itself is in a lovely tranquil location, just far enough from the hustle and bustle of the town centre but in fairly easy (about a mile of scenic flat path) walking distance from it and an even shorter country walk away from the beautiful Cockington village.
The grounds are very well kept and are nicely mature. Large carpark. Swimming pool although quite small is well kept and lovely for a dip or the kids to play in. The hotel itself is clean and spacious.
The breakfast is nothing short of superb just as all the other reviews have said with all the locally sourced products and homemade breads and jams, feeling hungry just writing this review!!!
The reviews on here are all spot on but I must just comment on what one reviewer said 'the owner has two big dogs around the house' this simply is not true the dogs barely came up to my 7 year old daughters knees!!! and they are definitely not allowed in the main part of the hotel. Infact my daughter loved one of the dogs 'Toffee' so much we had to ask Marion to let him out so she could play with him on several occasions! Keep up the good work Marion and Les, this is how to run a hotel, hopefully see you again soon?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    36
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
229
462
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is an absolutely brilliant place to stay. The proprietor Marion is fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. It seems like Marion's only aim is to make sure everything is just perfect for her guests, and she succeeded for us. The breakfast is outstanding, absolutely everything you can think of to eat. The room we stayed in was lovely, a huge bed, and very comfy. The actual setting of the Charterhouse is idyllic, with lovely countryside surrounding it, yet only a few minutes stroll to the seafront. This is definitely the place to stay. Thankyou Marion and team.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful bank holiday break here. Everything is just perfect, warm friendly welcome, cosy rooms, breakfast is just as everyone says and you must try Les' home made breads and preserves. Marian and Les are so helpful with information of the area and places to eat nothing is too much trouble. A place you will want to visit again and again knowing you will be well looked after. Thanks marian and les for making our stay so wonderful :) see you again soon.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Faz57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a weekend away in Devon.

Before I booked I did some research on TripAdvisor and all I can say is that The Charthouse is every bit as good as its reviews

We had the deluxe bedroom which was fantastic, spacious, an amazing bathroom to relax in - after we'd had our fresh coffee brought up to the room of course!

Marion and Les are perfect hosts, making you feel welcome when you arrive and all the way through to when you sadly have to leave.

The breakfast will leave you wanting for nothing, from locally sourced produce for the cooked breakfast through to the home made bread and jams.

For the same price as staying in a bland run of the mill hotel - a stay at the Charterhouse you can experience hospitality at its best.

We only stayed one night, as the night before we had stayed at Burgh Island and the Charterhouse is as good if not better in places!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My husband and I spent a a long weekend here for our first wedding anniversary and it was so wonderful. We paid a little extra for the riviera room which was amazin and well worth the money. The room was so clean, fresh and cosy and the bath was big enough for two.The carpet was so bouncy and soft and I couldn't wait to take my shoes off to walk around the room. The bed was the most comfortable bed ever in fact my husband and I slept better in it than our own. Deffinetely the best room we've ever stayed in. Marrion and Les made it so personal. My husband asked Marrion if she would put chocs in the room for me when we arrived as a suprise but she also put some beautful red roses in for us too. How thoughtful!. Marrion informed us of all the lovely places to visit and was very helpful and approachable. we fully recomend cockington village which was one of our main reasons for choosing the charter house to stay as it is so close by. Les made the most wonderful bread and jams and my husband and I couldn't get enough of them.
Both Marrion and Les are wonderful hosts and we can't thank them enough for such a wonderful first annivarsay. We will definely be staying at the charter house again and highly recomend it to all. Well done Marrion and Les don't change a thing xx
Nikki and Karl Hancox

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Booked this guesthouse after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and boy we were not disappointed just wish we had booked earlier as we only had 2 nights and was over in a flash. :(
Breakfast was out of this world with Les's homemade rasberry jam and the cooked was to nice to leave in the heat counter, we even said on the second morning it would be cereal and toast.... how did that bacon end up on our plate lol..

Marion is the best host i have ever come across and the pot of coffee we recieved on our arrival was just the ticket, plus she had booked the weather so was lovely to drink outside of our room (1) garden room.

Cockington is a must to visit but dont drive as it gets very busy and with it being 15mins down the road on foot there is a great pathway all the way to the village just make sure you go all the way around the village as there is so much to see and do.

We will be booking again for next year as we still have places to see and more great breakfasts to eat. Marion i would like to say many thanks for making our stay great xx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The perfect relaxing holiday, the rooms are spacious, super clean with modern bathrooms with the best power shower! Quiet position so you can have a perfect sleep with easy parking and round the corner from the train station. A great flat walk along the beaches into the town but a private garden to sit in at the property too. There is an outside area to sit in the evening plus a very comfortable, stylish lounge with sky tv and wifi. The owners Marion and Les just can't do enough for their guests and their breakfast is frankly the best I have ever eaten and I am very fussy. All the ingredients are sourced locally, top quality with a great choice, we even had blueberry pancakes freshly made for us with clotted cream! There are lots of places nearby to visit and Torquay has plenty of cafes, restaurants and shops so everyone was happy from a 10 yr old to a 70 yr old! We will keep coming back here what a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: all the rooms are recently renovated, spotlessly clean and lovely bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,363 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,875 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing