We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, Fantastic, Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #4 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chandlers Ford
1 review
“Fantastic, Fantastic, Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I have created a tripadvisor account purely so I can leave feedback for the Charterhouse! This was our first stay in a B&B and what can I say? Having stayed at many 5* hotels I have to say I would be hard pressed to say any of them beat the food and hospitality we received at the Charterhouse and this was all down to the wonderful hosts Marion and Les. They both made us feel very welcomed and gave us lots of local tips, all of which we followed and were not disappointed. And the food was excellent, I can see why they have won awards, the cooked breakfasts and home made breads were fantastic. Felt like we were staying with close friends, the Charterhouse is excellent for seeing the wonderful English Riveria (even out of season as we did) in fact I would say use the Charterhouse as a base if you want to stay anywhere in Devon. We will definitely be back, thank you Marion and Les so much. Why would you want to stay at any other hotel or B&B in Devon when you can stay here???

Room Tip: Stayed in superior room with a king size bed and sea view. Wonderful sleep on both nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonLChandlersFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
210
436
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We came down for yet another visit to The Charterhouse.... just for the weekend and it was sooooo good !! Les and Marion made us very welcome and the room was wonderful.... with superb sea views... and we were really lucky with the weather .considering it was the first weekend in February ... Les's homemade bread , jams and marmalades we a suberb addition to the Full English Breakfast treat each morning !!

Room Tip: The Riviera Room...is pure luxury and can fully recommend !!! all recently refurbished to a very hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed here at the last minute in April having search on Trip Advisor, and as I'm sure most people do, I wondered if it really could be as good as all the reviews suggest, but rest assured it most certainly is!!!

The owners, Marion and Les are what really make it - I've never come across owners who are so genuinely keen to do whatever they can to make your stay a great one. They've got a wealth of knowledge and suggestions on things to do in the area and will ensure that you make the most of your time. The accommodation is very comfortable and well located in a quiet area, but only a nice 15 minute walk into the centre of Torquay.

And the breakfast, wow, just incredible. They only use food from local producers and it really is top quality. On top of that, there's always some new breads that Les has made fresh, along with homemade pickles and preserves. It really does top your holiday off perfectly. Just don't tell too many people - we don't want it to become impossible to go back again!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in August at this amazing B & B. We booked the Riveriera Suite which is beautifully furnished, spacious and has an amazing bathroom. The room also has a fridge which was very useful on a hot day.
The hosts Marion and Les are very welcoming and friendly and offer really good advise on places to visit in the area, Marion also recommend some great restaurants and tea shops.
Breakfast was delicious with a great selection of hot and cold food all presented very well, homemade breads, jams and chutneys made by Les were fantastic. We could not wait to see what bread he had made each morning.
We would certainly recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a great place to stay. We could not find any faults with the Charterhouse or the hosts Marion and Les.
We look forwarding to returning in 2013

Room Tip: Reviera suite is a lovely room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We have just spent a wonderful New Year at the Charterhouse.
The welcome and service were both superb.
Marion and Les could not do enough for us and the other guests.
The breakfast was superb using all local produce and with Les's home made bread, jams and marmalade. Worth getting up for!!
They are also a mind of information with regard to local activities and sightseeing.
We visit Devon every year and this is by far the best place we have stayed (and we have tried many of the local hotels).
We would thoroughly recommend the Charterhouse and cannot wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner. Cant really fault this place. Excellent! Really friendly owners with high standards and really nice location. Pool was great!

Rooms are very clean, towels soft and large. Everything is comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed at The Charterhouse with friends for New Years Eve 2012/13. What a great time we had! Lovely food. Friendly and welcoming hosts, lovely clean rooms with tea-making facilities and a great location - very close to beaches, walks and good pubs. Les and Marion made us so welcome. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Some of the higher rooms have great sea views. The garden rooms are suitable for people with a dog a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.7 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing