We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mouth-wateringly gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #4 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tregaron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mouth-wateringly gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

The combination of Marion’s infectious enthusiasm and Les’ quiet efficiency ensured that our stay at the Charterhouse was everything that we could have wished for. From check in until the time that we finally said goodbye they were the epitome of perfect hosts.
The hotel was easy to find – not always easy to say in a busy seaside town – but this was thanks to the comprehensive directions we received after booking. (Point to note: SatNav instructs you to turn right at Shiphay Lane – most definitely ignore this instruction unless you really, and I mean really, want to negotiate the narrow lanes around Cockington!).
Our room was absolutely lovely with a beautiful view across to Torquay from the bay window - a view that became even more spectacular at night when the promenade’s decorative lights were switched on.
Breakfast was served in the lovely vaulted dining room: a comprehensive menu of fresh, local food that included a la maison speciality breads freshly baked by Les each morning and homemade preserves – again courtesy of Les – all mouth-wateringly gorgeous!
Marion’s suggestions and recommendations for places to eat during the day and in the evening were spot-on – it was just a pity that we did not have the time to try them all out – I’m sorry Marion – but, I think, that definitely provides us with a good reason to book that return visit!

Room Tip: Room 15 has a huge bed, a good sized ensuite and a great view over the water to Torquay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
211
442
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just returned home after 2 nights at The Charterhouse. The warmest of hosts - Les and Marian can't do enough to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The room was a good size, excellent shower and absolutely spotless. Breakfast with Les' home-made breads, marmalades and chutneys together with local produce was delicious - second to none. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for first-class accomodation within walking distance of the sea front - I can't wait for another chance to visit Torquay so I can stay again!

Room Tip: Tell Les and Marian what you need and they will do their utmost to please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We have recently thoroughly enjoyed a 5 night stay at The Charterhouse. Our hosts, Marion and Les were wonderful, so friendly and helpful. Our room was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. As for the breakfasts, you won't find better. We particularly loved Les' homemade bread and preserves. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Charterhouse and hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Just arrived home from 4 nights at The Charterhouse.
Wonderful stay with the perfect hosts.
We stayed in room 1 which is a dog friendly garden room, perfect for the late night and early morning outings for our pooch.
Excellent room with en suite and all the essentials you need.
The main plus points for this B & B, and there are two of them, are the hosts Marion and Les. There cannot be a friendlier pair and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is a masterpiece with Les's home made bread at the centre. The food is all local and cooked fresh. There is no way you won't find something to please. There is also a selection of jam, marmalade and chutney all again, home made by Les.
Perfect location for walks along the coast or for trips further afield.
Our trip was perfect and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed with Marion and Les during the February half term with our 3 year old daughter.

The welcome we received was seond to none, with Marion making us a pot of tea and an apple juice for Aoife. She then spent plenty of time telling us about the surrounding area and offering tips on child/family friendly places to eat and visit.

We were often welocmed back from our day out with Marion showing geniuine interest in what we had been up to-she was certainly a hit with our daughter who kept asking to return to her holiday home. We echo our daughter's feelings in saying it was definitely a home from home and we were welcomed like family.

The location is perfect for exploring the area and Cokington country park is a must. You can easily walk to many of the beaches and there is plenty to do for small children.

It is the little things that make Charterhouse worth a visit. On noticing we had popped a bottle of wine in the fridge, Marion left us some wine glasses in the room for the following evening.

The breakfast was hearty and delicious and Marion even cooked blueberry pancakes for shrove Tuesday.

If you're looking for warmth, friendliness, convienience and fantastic customer service we highly recommend a visit to The Charterhouse.

Thank you for having us-The Mordue Family xxx

Room Tip: Marion will be more than happy to help you with the best room. We had room 16 which has an interconn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mordue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed for one night last night and it was brilliant Marion is the perfect hostess, nothing was too much trouble, printed off information for three local places to eat in the evening. Breakfast was great, home made bread, what a treat. We stayed in Room 14, couldn't have been any cleaner, the bathroom was excellent and we had a very enjoyable stay. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Torquay. Its a credit to you Marion.

Room Tip: Room 14 Excellent!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabby1StHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandlers Ford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I have created a tripadvisor account purely so I can leave feedback for the Charterhouse! This was our first stay in a B&B and what can I say? Having stayed at many 5* hotels I have to say I would be hard pressed to say any of them beat the food and hospitality we received at the Charterhouse and this was all down to the wonderful hosts Marion and Les. They both made us feel very welcomed and gave us lots of local tips, all of which we followed and were not disappointed. And the food was excellent, I can see why they have won awards, the cooked breakfasts and home made breads were fantastic. Felt like we were staying with close friends, the Charterhouse is excellent for seeing the wonderful English Riveria (even out of season as we did) in fact I would say use the Charterhouse as a base if you want to stay anywhere in Devon. We will definitely be back, thank you Marion and Les so much. Why would you want to stay at any other hotel or B&B in Devon when you can stay here???

Room Tip: Stayed in superior room with a king size bed and sea view. Wonderful sleep on both nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonLChandlersFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,592 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing