We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A TRUE GEM !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #4 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds. Suffolk. England
Level Contributor
442 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“A TRUE GEM !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have just returned from a glorious four days at the Charterhouse. We stayed in the family garden room with our Lab Henry and had the most relaxing time.
Marion and Les are the kindest people and put so much effort into "The Charterhouse", this reflects in everything they do, from the initial welcome, advice on the area and restaurants (All cracking tips), to the most delicious breakfasts, even Henry got to sample the odd sausage or two (Thanks from him Marion).
I wish more places have the ethos of Marion and Les, they clearly work very hard, but make time to engage with their guests.
I would have no hesitations in returning here, should we be in the area.
Loved the Garden room, just sitting in the beautiful gardens was a real treat, and all in close proximity to Torquay Harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
211
442
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the family suite at the very top of the house and our older son stayed in a downstairs double room. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome and Marion very helpfully gave us a guide to the surrounding area, which we found very useful as we had never visited Devon before. The rooms were spotlessly clean and we had a beautiful view from the skylight in the children's room. Our 3 children particularly loved the swimming pool which was impeccably clean and was beautifully private so we could all relax. The breakfast was very filling. Everything was cooked to perfection and delicious. Les's home-bread and jams were a scrumptious treat. it was around 25 minutes walk into Torquay, we found cheap all day parking for £4.50 which was handy to the quay. . Absolutely would recommend and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganRni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed two nights in room 9 a family garden room, we had a double bed two singles, a large sofa, fridge, plenty of wardrobe space, a good shower. Very clean spacious room, overlooking the beautiful garden and pool, my grandchildren, were delighted. We were made most welcome, nothing seemed to be to much trouble, Marion and les are the perfect hosts. Breakfast was fabulious, cooked to perfection, great variety of foods would suit everyones tastes, we would highly recommend staying here. There is a good bus service which takes you in to town, if you don't fancy the 15 minute walk, even a taxi only cost us £5. No negatives at all, we would definatly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

From the moment we arrived, we knew we had found a gem. We were given a very welcome cup of tea and biscuits, Les took time to tell us about places to eat and worth visiting. The standards were excellent, Marion and Les have worked hard to provide a welcome haven for a relaxing holiday, and even though the decorators were there, we weren't aware of them. The breakfasts were amazing with homemade preserves, bread,and local produce, eaten in a very comfortable breakfast room. A wonderful place to stay, clean, quiet and with easy access into Torquay and surrounds. We wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend with my 3 yr old daughter and sister. We received a fabulous welcome from Marion, who gave us some great ideas of places to visit, eat etc. made ego feel very welcome on arrival and throughout our stay The bedrooms are lovely, fantastic facilities in the room, eg nice toiletries, wonderful towels, TV, plenty of tea coffee milk and so wonderfully clean. It's very handy for Torquay, we'd walked in twice, and next to village of Cockington, which is very picturesque. The hotel has lovely gardens and a great sitting room. The breakfasts are fantastic with plenty of choice, I couldn't't think of anything more you would want - including home made jams marmalade and bread. I am looking forward to when I can return. Thank you to our lovely hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We returned to stay at the Charterhouse for a few days in June and also introduced another family member to it who would also stay again!

The return visit was even better than the first time if that is possible. The welcome from Marion and Les really does make it feel like home from home and they cannot do enough for you with any requirements not too much trouble; homemade breakfast with local produce and great local knowledge.

We also found the Orange Tree Restaurant and Number 7 Fish Restaurant in Torquay which we thoroughly recommend for superb food.

We cannot wait for our next visit.........keep up the excellent work!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful Edwardian house. It is set back from the road in an oasis of plants and shrubs, tucked away in the picturesque village of Cockington. From the moment we arrived we felt so welcome and completely at home. Marion and Les are the most superb hosts, so friendly, caring and helpful. Also amazing cooks. The breakfasts were superb, and quality of all food and service was tip top, along with our spotlessly clean room and modern bathroom. We stayed in room 3 in the heatwave, but had morning sun , so the room was cool and comfortable to sleep in, a perfect choice. Slept like logs. no noise at night, and windows open. The Charterhouse is a truly peaceful haven, just a short distance to all the amenities of Torquay and the sea front. A real Gem, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJC9369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing