We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jewel of Torquay”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The jewel of Torquay”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic 11 days at this wonderful hotel, run by two of the nicest people you could ever meet. We found this "jewel" by chance from reading reviews from previous guests on this very site, & we weren't disappointed! In fact this year was our third visit & we are already planning next years. Thank you Marion & Les for all the hard work you put into making our holiday perfect, from your welcoming cup of tea with heaps of knowledge, to your homemade breads & jams, & your warm hospitality. See you in 2014, looking forward to it already. Doreen & Robin Ralston, Carluke

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doonleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    35
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
222
448
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

When I arrived, I was bowled over by the warmth of the welcome I received from Marion. As someone holidaying alone, I really appreciated this and the concern that was shown for me throughout my stay. When I went home, I felt I was leaving friends rather than a b + b. My Garden Room was a haven. It was spotlessly clean, contained everything I could want and, with its own door into the garden, felt completely private. The breakfasts were fantastic, with home made bread and marmalade, and so much on offer that it was quite possible to do without lunch. The hotel is almost on the seafront; it was possible to be on the beach in a few minutes and it was a short, pleasant walk to the harbour. The picturesque village of Cockington is a short walk the other way across a water meadow. I had a fantastic time and hope to return.

Room Tip: I loved my garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVSM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just returned from a week staying in this lovely place, the rooms are all spotlessly cleaned everyday as are the communal areas, lovely lounge, conservatory and outside patios to relax in. The best breakfasts I have eaten, locally sourced superb cooked breakfasts, juices, fresh fruit and even home made breads, pastries and jams. Marion is even kind enough to make fresh blueberry pancakes as well which were amazing! Nothing is too much trouble for Marion and Les, they gave us so many tips of places to go and how to get there so we discover new treasures every year. Some lovely sunny days too so the boys got to enjoy playing in the pool and garden. This place is in a fantastic tranquil spot with a beautiful walk into torquay and a little beach at the end of the road. We will be back again next year and can't wait, I highly recommend this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: All kinds of rooms available, interconnecting family rooms, lovely rooms for couples and twin rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlington, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Well this is the 5th consecutive year that we have been to this wonderful small hotel, again staying for a week in our favourite room the Riviera Suite. For those of you who have been there already, we are preaching to the converted but for those of you who are contemplating a first visit don't hesitate even for one moment. All the positive reviews you can read on this site really do accurately portray this brilliant hotel....... no one is exaggerating!

The Charterhouse is spotlessly clean throughout, the bedrooms are so comfortable the guests lounge is very relaxing and the breakfast is just awesome, all the food is locally sourced and is complimented by Les's delicious home made breads and marmalades.

Marion and Les have made many improvements to the hotel itself over the years the latest being a complete repainting of the outside, it looks fantastic. However it is the couple inside the four walls who really make the difference. Marion and Les work so very hard to make guests'
visits memorable from the moment they arrive to the time they leave, nothing is too much trouble for them. They are amazing hosts very user friendly and helpful and richly deserve all the accolades and we thoroughly recommend this splendid hotel. We are already looking forward to returning once more in 2014.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecclescakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Having stayed here a year ago and had a great time we decided to head back for a weekend break. They're clearly still working hard on the refurb (I'd imagine that it's probably a never ending process with the wear and tear of a b&b) and recently had the exterior of the property repainted. We were in the downstairs garden room which had it's own external door that was great for ease of access. The bed was firm but comfortable and the en-suite was very clean with a good size shower.

The breakfast was just as awesome as we remembered and you can definitely fill yourself up for the day. The cooked options were all very tasty, and the homemade breads and jams top notch and the hosts were their usual friendly and helpful selves (despite suffering from colds).

All in all a lovely stay again, and very good value, so I'm sure we'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was our first visit to The Charterhouse and both loved it. Marion and Les made us feel so wecome. Charterhouse is a short walk from Torquay, with comfortable and clean ensuites with sea views. Breakfast was also great! Would very much recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was our second visit to The Charterhouse, and will not be our last. The accommodation is of the highest standard, the breakfast to perfection and Marion and Les are both outstanding hosts. You are really close by to Cockington Village which is adorable. You are a short drive from Paignton, and only around 15 minutes walk away from Torquay town, which after the fantastic breakfast, you welcome the leisurely walk along the beach. The Charterhouse is a place not to be missed, and guaranteed that after your first visit you will return. Well done Marion and Les for getting it 'spot on'.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, which gave us a view of the garden and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,748 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,278 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#3 of 87 in Torquay
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
235 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 149 in Torquay
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing