We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Homely Guesthouse”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly and Homely Guesthouse”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We chose this establishment for a last minute summer break after reading the very positive reviews on Tripadvisor. On arrival we were given a friendly and informative welcome by Marion the owner. The room we had (No 3) was a good size with adequate storage for our clothes, two tub chairs and a small table. Tea and Coffee making facilities were provided along with a hairdryer and complimentary bathroom products. The rooms was equipped with a flat screen televison and freeview, however the screen was a little small and reception on some channels was poor. Free Wi fi broadband was provided, the connection was reliable and a decent speed.

The room was very clean, with good quality and very comfortable zip & link bed, bed linen and towel very of high standard. There was an en suite shower room with shower curtain fitted to an expanding shower rail; this proved to be a nuisance as it did it hold well when the room was wet and needed refitting several times, both by us and cleaning staff. The room was well maintained and appeared to have been recently re-decorated, (temporary nails used to hold architrave above shower tiles had been forgotten).

Marion and Les, the owners were friendly and enthusiatic about their home and the area, always ready to offer advice to guests. Breakfast was served buffet style and there was a great choice of cereal, fruit, cakes, and bread, along with a range of well cooked hot food. Each day there was a choice of Les's excellent home made bread, jams and marmalade. Marion and Les went out of their way to accommodate individual dietery requirements of guests.

The Charterhouse, offers ample free car parking at the bottom of a steep gravel drive, the driveway and steps into the property may not suit guests with reduced mobility. The guesthouse is located in a quiet area close to the sea front around 1 mile from Torquay making it a 20-25 minute stroll along the sea wall, idea for a stroll in nice weather. Cockington Court Country Park is 10 minute walk from The Charterhouse, this comprises of a large country house, walled garden and selection of craft based units including a Glass blower and Blacksmiths, it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lichfield_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    35
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
222
448
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our second trip to the Charterhouse and it was just as good as the first. Still a lovely warm welcome from Marion on our arrival, cups of tea and coffee and a cold drink for our 8 year old on a lovely hot day. A lovely walk along the sea front into Torquay and a short walk to the beautiful Cockington Village through the Woodland. (Weavers Tea Shoppe highly recommended)! We stayed in the family room with adjoining room. Its a lovely quiet room and our daughter loves having her own space! The breakfasts are fabulous and just get better. Les's home made jams and marmalades accompany his home made bread perfectly! There is a nice pool which is ideal for our 8 year old who is very close to swimming, and ideal to cool off in if its been a really hot day. Marion and Les are so welcoming and really cannot do enough for their guests. We would never stay anywhere else in Torquay, and hope to revisit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for five nights in the family suite at the top of the house. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and spotlessly clean. After a long drive we were warmly greeted by Les and Marion and provided with a welcome pot of tea. Les was most informative about things to do in the local area. The breakfasts are scrumptious and Marion is extremely attentive. We were lucky to stay during the bank holiday which coincided with a number of special events in the area including a wonderful firework display and the Red Arrows. The guest house is well placed for exploring the local area, we used the car for some journeys but also made use of public transport as there is a bus stop very nearby on the main road. We did a few trips recommended by Les and Marion and had a great time. Our two children loved having the pool all to themselves and playing with Toffee the dog. The gardens are beautiful and relaxing. Dont hesitate to book can highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is my second trip to the Charterhouse, and I would recommend it every time. Marion and Les are the loveliest, most helpful, friendly people. The bedroom we had was lovely, a fantastic size and very clean. The breakfasts haven't changed, they are perfect so well cooked and such variety. I couldn't say anything bad about the Charterhouse, it's just PERFECT.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights and glad we did! The location is fabulous just short stroll to the beach and Torquay harbour . The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable with a tea tray in the room filled with coffee chocolate and biscuits. We had a garden room which had beautiful view of the front gardens and flowers. The breakfast was amazing so much choice and les makes a fantastic selection of breads and jams ,marmalades . Marion and les made fantastic hosts really made you feel at home and nothing was to much when asked . The breakfast room in the morning is quite a social affair and adds to the lovely feel of the place. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for one night - 19th/20th August - on the strength of it's reputation and were not disappointed.

We were in the Riveria Room which has a very good view of the sea and the surrounding area. The room was very clean and well presented; coffee, tea, chocolate, and biscuits all present and correct. It has a large, luxurious ensuite bathroom.

The Charterhouse is in a fantastic location: you can walk into Torquay along the front, stroll through woodland to the village of Cockington, or enjoy the peace and quiet of the lovely grounds this guesthouse has - there is even a swimming pool.

Marion and Les were great and made us feel very welcome. They are there when you need them and ready to attend to every need but they give you lots of space and privacy - just the right balance. Breakfast was excellent. Served downstairs in a comfortable dining room, there was a great selection and a seemingly endless supply; Les's breads and marmalades are definitely worth a try!

This excellent B&B deserves the glowing reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed from Friday until the bank holiday Monday and each day was fabulous. Les and Marion are great. As soon as we arrived we both felt welcome. Despite arriving early our room was ready and Marion kindly took time out with a local map to show us some great suggestions. The room was cosy, clean and modern, we could not have wanted for more. Breakfast at the Charterhouse is fabulous. Having had breakfast at many five star hotels the Charterhouse breakfast is up there. Les' home baked bread is a lovely touch and beats factory bread any day. Without a doubt this is a special B&B and I somewhere I will return to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZRW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,748 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,279 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
235 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 149 in Torquay
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing