We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful room”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If staying here splurge on the riviera room. Big, beautifully decorated in modern style, huge bathroom and bath with mood lighting. Breakfast great, hosts also. Location just a bit too far to walk to Torquay restaurants at night- lovely daytime walk, and also the walk through water meadows to Cockington Village highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozrob63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    35
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
222
448
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This holiday was booked as a surprise for me by my husband and he chose the Charterhouse because of the good reviews he had read on Tripadvisor. Neither of us were disappointed; in fact we were both highly delighted with everything - our room, the Riviera Room (no14), our hosts Marion and Les and the breakfasts. Others have written about these things I just want to add it was the little touches that surprised and delighted us and the care shown by our hosts. We have stayed at other, more expensive B&B's that have been very strict about the time you could arrive and the amount of time you could stay during the day but not here; we were made to feel very welcome and could come and go as we pleased. Also we had just had a bit of a cold snap after our lovely summer and were pleased that the heating had been turned on; we didn't need it in our bedroom but I do like a warm bathroom and aired towels. Oh and whilst I'm on the subject of the bathroom, it was huge and very clean. The location of the Chaterhouse was ideal for us, within walking distance of Torquay and Paignton but off the main thoroughfare so it was quiet and 'leafy'. Thanks to Marion and Les we had a really wonderful and relaxing break away. Tricia and Paul Langdon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed as a family of four at The Charterhouse for a two night stay this September. We booked this guest house based on the fabulous reviews here on Trip Advisor, and we are so thrilled that we did. What a fantastic stay we had. Marion and Les are the most wonderful hosts. You are made to feel at home the minute you walk through the door.
We arrived at around tea time on the Friday and were greeted by Marion who showed us to our rooms. Our rooms were on the top floor in the large family suite. This consisted of two rooms, one with a double bed and the other with two singe beds. The double room had a lovely big bathroom with a bath and shower. The twin room had a sink in and shared the bathroom off of the double room. The rooms were spotless. So clean, so comfortable and equipped with everything we needed. The bathroom had lovely toiletries in and nice soft towels. Both rooms had a TV in as well. It was perfect for our family. Marion showed us everything in the room and it immediately felt so welcoming and like home. We were then offered a pot of tea by our hosts which was very much needed. This was served to us in the lounge downstairs complete with biscuits. Lovely! Marion then spent time with us to explain about breakfast etc and also to recommend some things to do and places to see during our stay. This included a boat trip to Brixham from Torquay for £1 each. What a bargain and very enjoyable it was too. We wouldn't of known about this if it hadn't of been for Marion.
Now on to breakfast. What a delight! This has to be THE BEST breakfast that we have ever had. The cooked breakfast was so good. You could choose what you wanted from he buffet area. Sausages, bacon, eggs, tomatoes, black pudding, hash browns, beans, mushrooms. Even the bacon was available as crispy or not crispy! They really do think of everything! As other reviewers have said, Les makes the most wonderful breads, marmalades and jams. We tried them all and they were delicious. There are also cereals available, fresh fruit salad and yogurts.
Marion and Les are always on hand during breakfast to make sure everyone is happy and has everything they need.
We loved our stay at The Charterhouse and hope to return soon. We highly recommend it.
Thank you Marion and Les for a wonderful stay. We will be back. The Kelson Family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bauloprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Charterhouse Hotel, Cockington Lane, Torquay. 25th September – 27th September 2013
We have just returned from spending 2 glorious days at The Charterhouse Hotel, Torquay, our first visit but I can assure all who read this it will be the first of many stays. What an amazing experience. We were greeted by Marion our host for the stay with a very warm and homely smile which immediately made us feel we had entered a home from home. After showing us our accommodation, which was fantastic, very clean and so beautifully decorated, Marion made us fresh coffee and biscuits and sat with us chatting and suggesting places to visit. Our huge en-suite bathroom contained mood lighting if so desired which was very relaxing when using either the bath or walk in shower. What can we say about the breakfast, there is only one word to describe this beautifully cooked start to the day, SUMPTUIOS , everything you could wish for was there, nothing was too much trouble for Marion, a wonderful lady who made people so welcome. Even only after two days Iain and I feel we have made a new friend. To conclude we recommend the highest accolade be awarded to Marion and Les at The Charterhouse.

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful, We had room 14. This is the first time we have looked at rooms on the website a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Three generations of our family stayed at this wonderful place for the weekend. Marion and Les were excellent hosts and we were all made most welcome. The rooms we had were lovely, clean and very comfortable; breakfast catered for every taste, with fantastic home-made bread, jams and marmalades, pancakes, fruit, yoghurts, cereals and a full English breakfast that met with everyone's approval. Just a short walk away from the beautiful Cockington village and craft centre and a short walk to the sea front in the other direction. We would highly recommend this place to our friends and relatives and we would be delighted to stay here again the next time we're in the Torquay area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

As a single woman traveler the welcome I received from Marion and Les was perfect. I had the Garden Room on the ground floor and it was lovely, clean and tidy everything you need for a comfy night. I am so glad I stopped there on my nostalgic return to the area,with a short walk to the theatre, shops and harbour I hope to make it an annual trip. Well done Marion and Les for making my visit so enjoyable your attention to detail and customer service is fabulous!.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Had a great stay at this lovely guest house. Marion and les were fantastic hosts nothing was to much trouble to them. Room was clean and tidy bed was very comfy we stayed for 4 nights and did not have any noise and it was very peaceful just what we were looking for. Breakfast was amazing everything you could wish for, homemade breads and jams different bread every day coundnt ask for more.Just a 20-30 min walk into town along the sea front. Found a lovely cream tea place in babbacombe which marion told us about its a must never had cream teas like its called angels.Great stay thanks marion and les will be coming again im sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,750 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,280 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
235 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 149 in Torquay
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing