We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #4 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very friendly hosts, excellent breakfast with homemade marmalade and bread, big and light room, great location for a holiday with many sights to see (outstanding: Greenway House). I can only recommend Torquay and the Charterhouse.

Room Tip: I had a spacious room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    34
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
217
445
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Charming location, delightful hosts (Marion and Les), fabulous, spacious bedroom with the most wonderful bath with cool lighting and the best breakfast you will ever ever taste! Les makes his own bread, jams and chutney and the full English is to die for! Five star service - I cannot recommend this B&B enough. Don't stay anywhere else in Torquay. Marion and Les are the perfect hosts - very friendly and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Riviera Room which was very spacious, lovely decor, huge bathroom with deep bath, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APofWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have just returned from our first trip to Devon where we stayed with Marion and Les. Marion was an amazing host - our room was so comfortable and relaxing, the breakfasts were enormous and so tasty (homemade bread, jams and marmalades, delicious eggs and full English breakfasts) and the recommendations we got for things to do and places to go were invaluable (Broadsands walk, Angel tea rooms, No. 7 fish restaurant). Lovely, accommodating hosts and a fantastic trip. We would definitely recommend staying here.
Thank you!
Alice and Keith

Room Tip: The Riviera room has a bath with mood lighting and is very comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digitalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

we have returned to the charterhouse for our third visit for our wedding anniversary we have stayed in many b+b s in the south west of England over the last few years and the charterhouse is our number 1 choice Marion and Les are perfect hosts very friendly efficient always make time to talk and offer advice on places to visit and restaurants for meals the charterhouse is homely very clean with nice décor and a spacious car park which is a big bonus We stayed in room 15 which was beautiful with a large ensuite king sized bed and a sea view but the best thing is the breakfasts with the home made bread and preserves delicious! We will be back again later this year

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at the Charterhouse for our wedding anniversary in the Riviera room. The room was fantastic and so was the view. Marion and Les were brilliant hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was fabulous, especially the homemade bread and jams, thanks Les - and Marion for the full english breakfast and cooking the poached fish perfect. We had a lovely stay, the Charterhouse is in a perfect position, out of town from the noise but within a short walking distance. Torquay is great for eating out, the restaurants are lovely - thanks to Marion for telling us about 'The Hole in the Wall'. If you need to know anything ask Marion, she is a gem. A big thankyou for making our staying so enjoyable. We would definately recommend The Charterhouse and will be back soon.

Room Tip: Definately recommend the Riviera Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here recently for two nights in one of the Garden Rooms ( number 1). I know Torquay very well and have stayed in the area many times but can only reiterate what people have already said about The Charterhouse, it really is a gem. Its location is excellent for exploring the whole of Torbay, the breakfasts are among the best we have ever experiences and our hosts, Marion and Les were most welcoming and friendly. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them and this was reflected in our pleasure in staying there. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltheretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, Berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This was our fifth visit to the Charterhouse because we love it! We've not managed to get there for just over 2 years so we were delighted to find the consistently high standards being maintained and received our usual warm welcome from the fantastic hosts Marion and Les. We stayed in the beautiful Riviera room which is spacious including a double king size bed and lovely sea views. It is very tastefully decorated and has an amazing bathroom including a huge bath and mood lighting. Breakfasts are a real treat all freshly prepared with quality ingredients. Nothing is too much trouble for Marion and Les. We are looking forward to our next visit already!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PinaColadaWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing