We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to stay in Torquay”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #8 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

On arrival you immediately feel you have made the right choice. Les and Marion go that extra mile to make your stay is perfect. Our room ( number 3) on the ground floor overlooking the garden (the sea was also visible) was large, spotlessly clean and well furnished. The bathroom was also well equipped with soft towels and quality toiletries. The Kingsize bed ensured we enjoyed a good night sleep after a tiring day and totally undisturbed due to the quiet location. Breakfast - the best ever. Les's home made breads and jams are to die for, and the choice and quality of the food is excellent. The location of the Charterhouse suits all types of traveller be it by car, train or bus. Torquay centre either an easy 15/20 minute stroll along the front or 5 minutes by bus from the top of the road. If you are going to Torquay this is the B&B to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
There are newer reviews for The Charterhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We had 3 lovely days and nights at the Charterhouse Marion & Leslie were the perfect hosts nothing was to much bother and Breakfasts were excellent and we'll cooked. We were there with our Grandson's who liked it so much they want to return sooner rather than later I would definitely recommend the Charterhouse to everyone even though it may prevent us getting dates that we want

Douglas and Catherine + Grandson's

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Dougie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very good location:
good atmosphere, beautiful, quiet, swimming pool, beautiful surroundings, sea view, close to town, car parking, bus stop near and so on!!
Also good location for trips around to all destinations worth to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and i have just returned from a lovely 3 night stay here at the charterhouse. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome by Marian, who is so lovely, warm and accommodating. Our room was beautiful, with fantastic views of the garden and the sea in the (not so far away) distance. The b&b itself is located in a quiet area of Torquay, in a place called Cockington. Its a 15 to 20 minute walk into Torquay town with a good selection of restaurants and nightlife. Our breakfast's were amazing, with an excellent selection of cooked and continental. The bread is home cooked and is lovely.
I have stayed on many B&B's, good and bad and would thouroughly recommend a stay here, the hosts are so lovely and the rooms 10 out of 10. We cant wait for a return visit. Thank you so much Marian and Les ☺☺

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 71kermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were so lucky to pick the Charterhouse (recommended to us by a local). Not only were the beds so comfortable and the breakfasts fantastic, but the welcome was out of this world. Marion and Les are the perfect hosts and made our short stay seem not nearly long enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SACA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our first stay at Charterhouse was in September of last year (2013), it was so comfortable that we just had to return. Again we had a marvellous time and the service was as good as before. Marion and Les do everything they can to ensure that guests have a pleasant stay. Breakfast is a tour de force and the locally produced bacon, sausages and eggs must be sampled or you will be missing out. Les makes his own preserves and bakes several kinds of bread. Try them you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Marion and Les are very caring genuine hosts.Their hotel is always spotlessly clean.We have stayed with them a number of times now and never failed to be impressed. The breakfast is excellent so tasty, and Les,s lovely breads jams and special marmalades.It,s only a few minutes away from the sea front and a good bus service, and within walking distance of Torquay. Just can,t write too highly of Marion and Les, they will help you all they can during your stay.

Room Tip: We think all the rooms are lovely at the Charterhouse. We choose the big garden room because we have...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,946 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
2,428 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,063 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 87 in Torquay
556 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#4 of 149 in Torquay
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £61 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing