We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit was as good as the first.”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #4 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second visit was as good as the first.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is out second visit to Marion & Les and it certaily won't be our last, once again we were greeted by a warm welcome upon arrival at the Charterhouse and stayed in another comfy and well laid out room. We slept very well and woke to the sound of seagulls, very relaxing! Marion had already given me tips of where to go for my morning run and this was very picturesque, all the good work was undone in 5 minutes flat as the Breakfast and selection of home made breads are second to none and can't be refused!

Once again, nothing was too much trouble. There is plenty of space to park the car and Torquay is only a short walk away. The train station is even nearer, only about 5 mins walk and the service up and down the coast is frequent and reliable meaning we could leave the car parked up and de stress properly.

We had great weather so I got to try the swimming pool this time, perfect for cooling off!

Once again we really enjoyed our stay and will return for a third visit!

Room Tip: Room 2 is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_B001186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    34
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
217
445
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Superb hotel , Marion and Les could not have done more , helped me arrange flowers etc for my wife's birthday , and made the trip for us to sunny torquey . Breakfasts were amazing , well done to Les on the home made bread front , and brill sausages . Rooms were cleaned daily , and lots of nice touches that you wouldn't get elsewhere . Highly recommend

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed at the Charterhouse with family for the weekend. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I suffer from Celiac and the kitchen were excellent and providing plenty of food for my condition.

The rooms were very tidy and very clean. A lovely bed and breakfast that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

As soon as we arrived Marion and Les made us feel at home straight away. Our room was the best that we have stayed in. Breakfast will never be the same again!! We can't wait to go back again. PAUL and Jane English

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A fantastic week at the Charterhouse. Marion and Les are very friendly and welcoming and are always about to help if needed. They were brilliant with my little girl and always had time for a chat. The rooms were fantastic and extremely comfortable and clean. The breakfast is also fantastic with lots of variety especially Les's home made bread.

Room Tip: We had the Superior room, a family interconnecting suite and a garden room and all were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was very very good. First off, we got in not in the best of places as we had just walked back from our car which had gotten a flat tire, but Les was very welcoming as he helped us out and gave us a ride back to the car. They were both very welcoming and nice hosts which gave it a great charm. The rooms were also very nice, and included some of the best hotel beds I have ever slept on. The factor that really put it over the top though was the food. Great fresh baked goods and fresh jams, and a very good breakfast buffet. The big surprising thing though, we're the pancakes. If you ask Marion in advance, she will make some of the best homemade pancakes ever for you. A must stay in Torquay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidsmartreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

we have been to many b and b s in devon but the charterhouse is our number one choice it was our fourth stay in two years! We had a fantastic stay as usual Marion and Les make you feel like one of the family with a really friendly and relaxed atmosphere.The room 15 we stay in is very clean, decorated nicely and spacious with a sea view.The breakfasts are great plenty of car parking space on site.Looking forward to going back already!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing