We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a lovely quiet setting”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #4 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harlington, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a lovely quiet setting”
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Difficult to know where to start. We have recenty returned from a truly brilliant week at the Charterhouse where from the first moment we met Marion and Les we were made to feel so very very welcome. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them, offering impartial advice on where to eat in the evenings, to various places to visit. The rooms were absolutely fine and it is clear they have invested much time and considerable insight in making sure the improvements they undertake are in keeping with both the building and the needs of their guests,with great success. Must also mention the outstanding breakfast which is to die for!
(We are not at all sure where "clementMonmnouthshire" stayed because their review simply does not stack up in our opinion) We honestly felt that we were staying with friends rather than in a hotel. We are looking forward very much to returning next year.Thank you Marion and Les for the best hotel hospitality we can remember.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecclescakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    34
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
217
445
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We have just returned from our 5 day break having had a really enjoyable stay at this B/B.
Marion and Les were very welcoming and could not do enough for us,suggesting places to visit and how best to get there. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices.
The B/B is situated about 20--30 minute walk from the town centre but only 5 minutes from the sea front which makes a nice walk into the town.
Buses run along this route on a very regular basis.
The B/B is also very close the the beautiful village of Cockington.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

a perfect place to stay, where you welcomed like one of the family, with lovely rooms and a great great breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludlowadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Very clean and welcoming. Good value for money. Booked ‘superior’ room (No 15) which had excellent quality bed, shower and Wi-Fi. Very good breakfast. Good location for walking to Torquay and Cockington Village. Ample onsite parking.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man_with_a_Suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Away from Torquay centre, but within 20 minutes walk back along the coast, or a short bus ride, from Restaurants in town. It is therefore in a peaceful location away from the nightly bustle of the centre, but convenient for buses and trains if you want to give driving a miss! In that respect recommend the Brixham ferry from Torquay, and the steam train/ferry to Dartmouth from Paignton. The owners Les and Marion are very welcoming, friendly, and obliging. The room was very clean, breakfast good. We will return for our next visit to Devon. One small thing is that the shower was of the electric variety, adequate but without that extra power of a mains one. It was spotless though, which is the most important thing. No problems at all with the Wi-Fi, worked perfectly first time and always!

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WTPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We have recently enjoyed a long week-end break at the Charterhouse in Torquay, and yes, the many complementary comments on tripadvisor relating to this establishment are true. Both Les and Marion were excellent hosts, offering advice on local attractions and restaurants, even making reservations for us when required. They genuinely care that their guests enjoy their stay at Charterhouse and let’s face it that is a rare commodity these days. We would not hesitate in recommending Charterhouse, the breakfasts and more especially the scrambled eggs are memorable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton in ashfield notts
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We have just been to the charterhouse hotel for a short break and what a great find.The hotel is in a good location within walking distance of town and all its restaurants and attractions.The owners are very friendly and on our arrival made us feel welcome straight away.The hotel has a lovely home from home feel and is very quiet and relaxing. We both enjoyed a lovely home cooked breakfast made with tasty local produce with lots of choice. We would recommend anyone to give this hotel a try - you will not be disappointed. Thanks Marion and Les for your kindness and hospitality we would love to come back next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing