We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Charterhouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
781
36
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
781
36
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscockington villagemarmaladeriviera roomgarden roomb bwater meadowsfamily suitehome from homewarm welcomeperfect hostssea frontbiscuitson arrivalsuperior roomtorquay centreshort walksecond to none
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
703 - 708 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2010

If you want to stay at a hotel where you are genuinely made to feel at home (in a good way!), then this is it. The welcome was very warm, the service attentive, the location and rooms excellent and the breakfast fantastic. To say Marion and Les are focused on all their guests having a great stay is an understatement. Their knowledge of local attractions, pubs and restaurants was excellent and they really went out of their way to help us enjoy our break, which we thoroughly did!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyDCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

What an amazing place to stay. Marion and Les were very welcoming and helpful. We were greeted personally, and given a pot of tea and biscuits in the lounge. Les showed us some information they had collected of local places to visit and restaurants to eat in. For breakfast, I had a veggie breakfast made for me, and they were very helpful with my dietary needs. Our room was lovely - clean, large, very quiet, and very homely. When we had a problem with our kettle, they were more than happy to help out, and provided another kettle almost instantly. We stayed for 2 nights and has our room cleaned during our stay.

Overall, the Charterhouse is more than step above other small b&b's/hotel, and made special by Marion and Les.

I am planning on returning to visit here. It was every bit as good as we hoped for our relaxing weekend away - and more!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

The welcome at the Charterhouse is second to none. Marion & Les go out of their way to make sure your stay is the best it can be. The rooms are excellent, tastefully done and extremely clean. Lots of little thoughtful touches are added to make your stay special. The house is so well situated so much to see ans do, take a ride in horse and carriage around Cockington village and through the park, it was wonderful. We have already booked to return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leachar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

I read previous reports on this hotel and I must say I was a little dubious. So many praiseworthy comments, could they all be true. Well have no fear reader. This hotel is as good as the reports. We have never stayed in such a friendly hotel. Marion was there to greet us and made us feel very welcome. We were the only guests staying for the short break we booked and although we had her undivided attention, I would be very happy to visit at the busiest time of the season and know we would receive the same care and attention.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We happened upon Charterhouse completely by chance and spent our stay marvelling at how lucky we had been. Marion and Les made us feel most welcome and were very helpful in suggesting possible outings and supplying directions.

The family suite was smartly decorated, cosy and comfortable. The selection and quality of food on offer at breakfast was very good and a lot better than we've had in large hotels.

Conveniently located and tucked away in a quiet leafy corner of Torquay, it is simply one of best guest houses we have stayed in. If we visit the area again, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews