We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only all hotels had a welcome like this”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If only all hotels had a welcome like this”
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We normally stay in chain hotels but boy are we glad to have broken the mould and chose this hotel. Marion & Les make you feel so welcome that you are at ease from the moment you arrive. We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms and was very pleased with the standard. They are super clean and are kept that way during your stay. The hotel is well situated within walking distance of Cockington & the main area of Torquay. We noticed very little noise an occasional car & only 1 train, none of which caused us to lose any sleep. As stated the breakfasts are fab and Les's marmalade a triumph. (recipe please!) I am sure that we will return to see the ongoing improvements which will only make a great hotel even better

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    35
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
222
448
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We cannot praise the Charterhouse highly enough. Les and Marion are the perfect hosts and do all they can to ensure their guests feel welcome and at home. The room, the great breakfasts (and Les' marmalade) are all exceptional. The location is excellent with the absolutely charming Cockington village within walking distance. In a word - Outstanding - we loved it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussies0nt0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed at the Charterhouse for 1 night earlier this month as part of a long weekend trip to Devon.
Originally we had planned to stay for 3 nights but were left disappointed after the first night by what we found to be quite a noisy room (traffic, train line, and building work nearby). We spoke with Marion at breakfast the next morning and to her great credit, she was very apologetic and offered to refund our money for the other 2 nights we had booked so we could stay elsewhere. She assured us no one had complained about the noise before, and we confessed we do live in a very quiet area and one of us in particular is a light sleeper.
Marion and Les clearly work very hard at providing a welcoming B&B, and I feel almost guilty for saying anything critical - but as per the only other "average" review on here, I would agree that the hotel is in need of some modernising and upgrading (which I believe the couple are working on. Apparently the small room we stayed in is soon to be renovated into a very large room which will be an improvement). We were attracted by the "number one in Torquay" rating on Trip Advisor, but I would have to say that this was not the number one B&B we have ever stayed in and we have certainly had better for an equivalent price range; sorry!
For those who are not so bothered by outside noise (the building work at the time could not be helped but the trains and traffic are noticeable if you are a light sleeper) and who enjoy a 'part of the family' approach, Marion and Les are ideal hosts and certainly passionate about what they do.

Positives: Clean room with basic facilities
Friendly hosts with good knowledge of local area
Good breakfast

Negatives: Noise in bedroom/ lack of double glazing
Light in bedroom in morning due to thin curtains
Slightly too family friendly for our tastes
General tiredness of fixtures, fittings etc

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smoggie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torqs, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this review, 22 June 2010
We would like to take the opportunity to clarify some of the comments in this review whilst thanking the reviewer for their positive comments about us, our breakfast, our cleanliness standards, and the way in which we handled this issue.

The Charterhouse is located in a peaceful location along a residential country lane. It is set back from the lane by approximately 45 metres and screened by two banks of trees and shrubs which we have always believed helps to make this a very quiet location. Any building will receive a certain amount of road traffic noise if it is adjacent to a road and we are no exception. However, this is no major road by any means. There is also a railway line further along the lane where trains pass intermittently during the day.

We understand that noise is very subjective and were concerned by this feedback so we asked the opinion of an Acoustic Engineer Consultant registered with the Association of Noise Consultants. He was able to take some readings in our garden and his comment was “this is a peaceful garden by any measure”. The ambient background noise level was around 45 Dba mostly comprising of birdsong and the distant hum of a lawnmower, rising to around 65 Dba when a train went by, which he described as a temporary event lasting only a few seconds. 65 Dba compares with typical noise levels recorded from a tumble dryer or indeed normal conversation.

The Charterhouse offers hospitality to families as well as couples and this is evident from our information on the internet and brochures.

We recognise The Charterhouse is a work in progress, constantly undergoing improvements. The room in question is not a large room and although not yet refurbished, it is a pleasant room with the most fabulous sea views and panoramic views of the surrounding gardens and area. This was explained at the time of booking.

Finally, as many of our guests can verify, it is extremely important to us that our guests are comfortable and happy during their stay. Obviously we cannot please everyone all of the time but we do our best. It became clear that as these problems were beyond our control the best solution was to offer our guests the opportunity to leave and find somewhere more suitable with no charge being levied for early departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This is a great place to stay. I was made to feel right at home and Marion went out of her way to make sure everything was to my satisfaction - and it was. It is nice to find a place that really cares about doing it right. The local village of Cockington, a short walk away, is incredibly beautiful and well worth spending time at. The location of The Charterhouse is perfect. Close to Torquay but in a very quiet location. British Columbia, Canada.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ysanne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Lovely warm welcome on arrival from Marion who provided fresh tea and biscuits while giving us bags of information and ideas for our stay. Rooms were very clean, decorated to a high standard and well furnished - a special mention for the very comforable beds - we all slept like logs. Breakfasts were delightful with a good variety of local produce all cooked beautifully - nothing greasy here. The hotel is well placed between Torquay and Paington with excellent access to local services and attractions and within walking distance of Cockington Village and Craft Centre. Marion and Les make the extra effort to ensure their guests are well looked after to ensure a pleasant stay. The Charterhouse is now added to our list of hotels we will return to and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Angela, Tom, Jennifer and Barry.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieBTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torqs, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this review, 19 June 2010
We usually send a personal and private thank you to our Reviewers but on this occasion we wanted to say a big Thank You for receiving our 100th Review. We are so glad our guests have enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to meeting many again in the future. It has been an absolute pleasure for us to enjoy the company of so many lovely people. Marion and Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We read Tripadvisor reviews on this hotel which were excellent overall and weren't disappointed when we arrived. The location was good and the hosts magnificent. Nothing was too much trouble, they gave helpful advice and were informative about the local area and sights to see. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the gardens and swimming pool were a welcome refuge after a hard day relaxing! The Charterhouse boasts one of the best breakfasts I've found in this kind of establishment. The nearby village of Cockington was beautiful and you could be forgiven for believing you had stepped back in time.
I think the hotel will improve even more once the proprietors obtain a licence (which is in progress at the moment I believe but this didn't stop our hosts cheerfully supplying the means to have a tipple on the lawn! Well done Marion and Les - I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I was asked not to leave a review that reflects my sense of humour (difficult).

All I can say is that we were welcomed to the hotel with arms wide opened, even though I did arrive 30 minutes later than my wife as she chucked me out of the car lol.

I think we were in the superior room which was quaint and worth the extra money. The bed is out of this world you won't have a better night's sleep anywhere. Also, the walls between rooms were thick as we could not even here the bratts next door (lol).

Very close to some lovely villages though won't rate the pub up the road to greatly, you may as well take that 30 minute walk into Torquay that has some great eateries.

Anyway, seriously the Charterhouse deserves that No.1 hotspot, great rooms, great service, great breakfast and right next to the sea 2 minute walk.

So go for it, we would again.

Wayne & Fiona Graham

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doogy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 149 in Torquay
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing