We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly hotel in an excellent location that loves dogs.”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #5 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We had a lovely stay in a clean hotel within walking distance of Cockington village. The hosts, Marion and Les, were friendly and welcoming to us and our two cocker spaniel dogs. The breakfast was huge and the dogs enjoyed their sausage for breakfast each morning! We would highly recommend this hotel and will return in the future for another enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2010

We have just arrived back home after our 3rd visit to the Charterhouse having had yet another wonderful stay. Marion and Les are so accommodating and such obliging hosts nothing is too much trouble. Already looking forward to visiting again next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicestershireRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

My Father and I had yet another wonderful stay at the Charterhouse Hotel in Cockington Lane this year. Each year Marion & Les work hard to make the hotel even better than the year before, newly decorated rooms, work in the gardens and wonderful breakfasts, catering endlessly for specail requests of any guest and much appreciated. The welcome is like going home to an extended family or friends. Because this wonderful little hotel seems to be getting booked up early we made sure we booked for 2011 before we left after a truly wonderful holiday. Thank you so much Marion & Les, see you June 2011.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulipLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I don't normally bother to write a review, but this lovely hotel deserves all the praise possible, we stayed for a few days and found the hotel to be a little gem all the reviews I had read were very true.
Marrion and Les go out of thier way to make you welcome and nothing is too much trouble, the lovley Marrion will give you loads of local information.
The breakfasts are mega, you WILL put on weight while staying here if you manage to eat all on offer.
The gardens are lovely so is the pool although we didn't use it during our stay, Cockington Village is a short walk away, with craft shops and park.
We hope to return again soon just like many of their other returning guests. Well done Marrion and Les, don't change a thing.
Carol & Martin

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jessieMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed with my elderly parents-in-law and two boys aged 9 and 11 for 3 nights and were very impressed with the Charterhouse. Marion and Les are very good hosts and could not do more for my elderly parents-in-law whilst also making my active boys feel very welcome. They loved the pool and the garden. We had two family suites. The family suite we had on the top floor was perfect and I was particularly impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the quality of the beddings and towels. The breakfast was excellent every morning. I can highly recommend this hotel and will be returning. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redevilCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Marion and Les are fantastic hosts and made us feel so welcome from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble and they took time to sit down with us and advise on things to do and places to go as well as good restaurants for dinner. They obviously take great pride in what they do. There was a great friendly atmostphere during breakfast and the cooked breakfast is out of this world!! We would thoroughly recommend staying at The Charterhouse.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeshireDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We recently stayed at teh Charterhouse and it is fab. we came back after we stayed here last year. Marion and Les are very considerate and look after you so well. I wouldn't stay any where else in Torquay. Its the best place to stay, very clean comfortable rooms.

Les and marion even let me use their printer to print out my boarding pass. Excellent hospitality:)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,228 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,126 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £53 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing