We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and Friendliest B & B in Torquay”
Review of The Daylesford

The Daylesford
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Daylesford
Ranked #72 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions including my 40th birthday and can honestly say it is the best bed and breakfast in Torquay!
You are greeted with such friendliness by Simon and Diane. They make you feel like you are at home. The bedrooms are of the highest standard, our daughter likes to sleep in the single room when staying there, it is small but cute!
My husband (who is a chef) says you can't beat Dianes breakfasts. No wonder they have won breakfast awards!
We will be back as soon as poss!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meecham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

The day before we were due to arrive, Simon rang us at home to say that both he and Dianne we looking forward to us coming to stay with them.(we had not stayed before) which we thought was a nice touch.
When we arrived the next day we had a warm welcome from Simon who gave us loads of information of where to eat and go. We were shown to our room which was lovely, spotless is not the word, and attention to detail is fabulous, we have never stayed anywhere where this level of service was given. I'll name a few, makeup removal pads, tissues, tea tray repenished every day not only milk but biscuits as well, clean towels every day, superb.
The breakfast was good,loads of choice, it kept us going all day. Simon and Dianne must work very hard, you could not fault any part of the stay.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the Daylesford to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthWalesSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

After I had phoned to to make a booking & received an informative e-mail from Simon & Dianne, I knew we had chosen a great place to stay. On arrival we were welcomed into their lovely home & had a chat over tea & biscuits in the cosy sitting room. They gave us lots of information & advice on places to eat etc. We had the Junior Suite, which was lovely, as it was nice to have a seating area to read, separate to the bedroom. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels & the bed made. Breakfast was great, with alot of choice & the full English was very substantial. We would thoroughly recommend this B & B to anyone. Simon & Dianne's hospitality is second to none - nothing was too much trouble - it was a pleasure to meet such lovely people. Thank you so much for making our stay a memorable one!

Diane & Gianni

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giovanni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at the dayslford for a week commencing 21st july we arrived to a very warm welcome stunning location we had recently travelled abroad this beat it hands down. We were shown to our room stunning views spotless is a understatement we were made to feel part of the family they are a genuine couple who work very hard to make your stay memorable.every day the breakfast is five star what a choice simon gives you lots of imformation where to eat places to go ect when you return to your room it is spotless towels bedding tea coffee water biscuits toilet rolls replenished there attention to detail is second to none.i could tell you lots more about the hotel & the area but I will be booked up & we want to go back thankyou again simon & dianne we will be back dawn & frank warrington

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn123Warrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We chose this hotel for a short break in July 2012. Fantastic hotel ! The owners were very welcoming, taking the time to make our stay perfect from start to finish. We had a juniour suite, which was decorated to a high standard. Breakfast offered a great choice, cooked to a very high standard. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Torquay but does not want to stay directly in the town centre, about 10 mins walk away. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Hosts were nice, breakfast was delcious, rooms spotlessly clean and very well-presented. What more could you want, all in all very nice indeed, would recommend.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank galdridge58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were made very welcome by Simon and Diane, they couldn't too much for us. The room was very nice, and the bed very comfortable, breakfast was very good too. We played the 'four in a bed' game and gave 10 out of 10 for everything.

Would have no hesitation staying again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Antonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#54 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daylesford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daylesford

Address: 60 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £67 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daylesford 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation - Silver Award 2006, 2007 & 2008. Quality guesthouse providing a high level of hospitality and comfort. Located on a tree-lined road, within walking distance of the Riviera International Conference Centre, sea front and town, The Daylesford has a unique charm and character. For food lovers, we can provide personal recommendations to for example The Elephant Michelin Star Restaurant, The Number 7 Fish Bistro, Prezzo, Treasury brasserie and The Hole in the Wall, a truly excellent gastro-pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Daylesford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daylesford Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing