We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B + B”
Review of The Daylesford

The Daylesford
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Daylesford
Ranked #69 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northants
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent B + B”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at The Daylesford Torquay for 7 Days Friday to Friday this B+B is set at the end of a nice quiet road but just off Avenue Rd which made it very easy to locate. We cannot fault the welcome and service Jane and Martin gave us. Martins breakfasts are not to be missed and set us up for a full days sightseeing, the rooms are cosy and kept spotlessly clean with fresh towels every day. The decor very relaxing and tasteful for the Victorian style of house. The walk to the harbour is a comfortable 30 minutes stroll or buses run every 10 minutes at the sea front 5 mins away downhill. We would highly recommend a stay at the Daylesford if you want a relaxing holiday as you will be well looked after.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazzaNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
Thanks a million Judi & Peter for writing this super review, we really do appreciate it. It was lovely to meet you both and we are looking forward to next time.

Best wishes
Jane & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
75
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I Stayed here on the the weekend of the 12 July Great location, lovely building, and made to feel welcome. Rooms well equipped and clean. Bathroom modern and well equipped. Breakfast deserves a special mention, good menu that is cooked extremely well. Both Jane and Martin were knowledgeable about what to do and where to go. Overall a great stay and we will be going back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sibown3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Martin and Jane have made this beautiful house into a very welcoming and outstanding place to stay .The accommodation is spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast is beautifully cooked with plenty of choices. Jane uses quality toiletries and the rooms are decorated and presented with a really stylish flourish worthy of a five star country hotel . They have a vast knowledge of all of the places to visit in and around the resort which is a lovely 10 minute stroll away. There is easy off street parking and the location is perfect in that it is near enough to the harbour and resort but in a lovely quiet road . They are lovely hosts and made us feel so welcome , we will be back in the Autumn for another visit and will definitely be staying at the Daylesford.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Situated in quiet area approx 15 min walk to Torquay Harbour is the little gem that is the Daylesford .Our room was spotless with a well stocked tea tray, lovely toiletries,( bathrobes& slippers are also available) & a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was a relaxed affair with plenty of choices including a lovely full English. Hosts Jane & Martin will go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable & provided information on local places of interest (especially the beautiful village of Cockington)helping us to pack as much as possible into our 3 days in Torquay.We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Great hosts. Mark and Jane are very friendly and helpful. Outstanding accommodation and delicious breakfast. We wish we could. Have stayed longer. The Daylesford is located in a quiet street but is only a short walk to the harbour and restaurants.
There is easy off street parking on site.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Coxie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

They are the nicest people you will meet, they booked our resturants and arranged taxis for us. Lots of advice constuctive not pushy. the breakfast was great too. The rooms are clean and tidy they are a bit tired but its the best B&B I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: talk to the owners ther advice is always good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions including my 40th birthday and can honestly say it is the best bed and breakfast in Torquay!
You are greeted with such friendliness by Simon and Diane. They make you feel like you are at home. The bedrooms are of the highest standard, our daughter likes to sleep in the single room when staying there, it is small but cute!
My husband (who is a chef) says you can't beat Dianes breakfasts. No wonder they have won breakfast awards!
We will be back as soon as poss!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meecham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#23 of 149 in Torquay
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
0.3 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#22 of 149 in Torquay
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Babbacombe Hall
Babbacombe Hall
#70 of 149 in Torquay
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melba House Hotel
Melba House Hotel
#95 of 149 in Torquay
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#30 of 149 in Torquay
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daylesford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daylesford

Property: The Daylesford
Address: 60 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daylesford 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation - Silver Award 2006, 2007 & 2008. Quality guesthouse providing a high level of hospitality and comfort. Located on a tree-lined road, within walking distance of the Riviera International Conference Centre, sea front and town, The Daylesford has a unique charm and character. For food lovers, we can provide personal recommendations to for example The Elephant Michelin Star Restaurant, The Number 7 Fish Bistro, Prezzo, Treasury brasserie and The Hole in the Wall, a truly excellent gastro-pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Daylesford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daylesford Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing