We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of The Daylesford

The Daylesford
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Daylesford
Ranked #71 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Before I start my review, I want to emphasize to anyone out their who is dubious about travelling to the South West after the awful storms - DEVON IS OPEN FOR BUSINESS!!!! Yes, there are a few places that you can see are badly damaged from the flooding, but from the news you'd think that the whole of the South West is feet under water.

Anyway, back to the Daylesford. What a lovely, cosy, immaculate b&b. We stayed in the Junior Suite as we were drawn by the fact it had its own little sitting area. Whilst room is quite small, it was spotlessly clean, the bed and pillows were comfortable and joy of joys, the heating was on! Can't tell you the number of places we've stayed and the owners will not put the rads on. Water was piping hot too.

As other reviewers have said, Jane and Martin are lovely hosts - friendly without being overbearing which is just what I want when I stay somewhere. Breakfast was delicious - if you don't want full English there are lighter options, and also you can mix and match.

I've given an overall rating of four due to the fact that there are only showers available, which wasn't a problem for four nights, but any longer and I would be crying out for a soak.

I would definitely stay there again for a short break, it's such good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IheartDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for alerting everyone to the fact that Devon is, indeed, open for business after the very wet winter. We really do appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again.
Jane & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
74
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at The Daylesford Torquay for a long weekend for my wife's birthday. We were greeted on arrival by the owners Jane & Martin, and made to feel welcome straight away with a pot of tea and two lovely homemade cupcakes, a nice touch for the start of our stay. The interior was very homely, tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean throughout. Our room (The Cricketers) was also very nicely decorated with a classy feel and little added extra's that made you feel that you were in a 5* hotel.The bathroom was also exceptionally clean, well equipped with thick fluffy towels and good quality bathroom products.The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice for varied taste in a comfortable relaxed setting with a top class service. Jane & Martin looked after us very well and provided us with a service that was second to none.We would recommend a stay at The Daylesford as somewhere that you will be well looked after with a touch of class.We will be letting all our family and friends know about this wonderful place. Overall we had a great stay and will look forward to going back.

Shaun & Emma from Bristol

Room Tip: The Cricketers room has a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Jane & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Booked last minute for a new years eve night out at the riviera centre.

I booked it directly through the guesthouse over the phone and got a slightly better rate than via a booking website and Jane kindly agreed to extend our checkout until 12:00. It was surprisingly cheap, so I wasn't expecting much, but as I'd hardly be in the room, I wasn't too fussed about anything other than the location.

Was greeted on arrival by the lovely owners, Jane and Martin and shown to our room.

I cannot stress how hospitable and helpful they both were throughout the entire duration of our stay.

The interior was homely, nicely decorated and exceptionally clean throughout. No complaints about the room either.

Unfortunately we didn't have time to get breakfast, but Jane and Martin kindly prepared us a complimentary snack for the journey home!

I'd recommend this guesthouse to anyone wishing to have a warm and welcoming stay in Tourquay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benwhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at The Daylesford Torquay for 7 Days Friday to Friday this B+B is set at the end of a nice quiet road but just off Avenue Rd which made it very easy to locate. We cannot fault the welcome and service Jane and Martin gave us. Martins breakfasts are not to be missed and set us up for a full days sightseeing, the rooms are cosy and kept spotlessly clean with fresh towels every day. The decor very relaxing and tasteful for the Victorian style of house. The walk to the harbour is a comfortable 30 minutes stroll or buses run every 10 minutes at the sea front 5 mins away downhill. We would highly recommend a stay at the Daylesford if you want a relaxing holiday as you will be well looked after.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazzaNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
Thanks a million Judi & Peter for writing this super review, we really do appreciate it. It was lovely to meet you both and we are looking forward to next time.

Best wishes
Jane & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I Stayed here on the the weekend of the 12 July Great location, lovely building, and made to feel welcome. Rooms well equipped and clean. Bathroom modern and well equipped. Breakfast deserves a special mention, good menu that is cooked extremely well. Both Jane and Martin were knowledgeable about what to do and where to go. Overall a great stay and we will be going back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sibown3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Martin and Jane have made this beautiful house into a very welcoming and outstanding place to stay .The accommodation is spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast is beautifully cooked with plenty of choices. Jane uses quality toiletries and the rooms are decorated and presented with a really stylish flourish worthy of a five star country hotel . They have a vast knowledge of all of the places to visit in and around the resort which is a lovely 10 minute stroll away. There is easy off street parking and the location is perfect in that it is near enough to the harbour and resort but in a lovely quiet road . They are lovely hosts and made us feel so welcome , we will be back in the Autumn for another visit and will definitely be staying at the Daylesford.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Situated in quiet area approx 15 min walk to Torquay Harbour is the little gem that is the Daylesford .Our room was spotless with a well stocked tea tray, lovely toiletries,( bathrobes& slippers are also available) & a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was a relaxed affair with plenty of choices including a lovely full English. Hosts Jane & Martin will go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable & provided information on local places of interest (especially the beautiful village of Cockington)helping us to pack as much as possible into our 3 days in Torquay.We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#7 of 87 in Torquay
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#30 of 150 in Torquay
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westbank
The Westbank
#106 of 150 in Torquay
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 150 in Torquay
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fleurie House
Fleurie House
#111 of 150 in Torquay
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daylesford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daylesford

Property: The Daylesford
Address: 60 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daylesford 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation - Silver Award 2006, 2007 & 2008. Quality guesthouse providing a high level of hospitality and comfort. Located on a tree-lined road, within walking distance of the Riviera International Conference Centre, sea front and town, The Daylesford has a unique charm and character. For food lovers, we can provide personal recommendations to for example The Elephant Michelin Star Restaurant, The Number 7 Fish Bistro, Prezzo, Treasury brasserie and The Hole in the Wall, a truly excellent gastro-pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Daylesford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daylesford Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing