We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay best value”
Review of The Daylesford

The Daylesford
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Daylesford
Ranked #71 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

What a great place! Nice breakfast, good view, looks through the window smell fresh and bed so comfortable, free parking.. Me and my son like the hotel he's happy with the fast WIFI as he like to play game on IPad.. It's excellent I recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you very much for your great review and glad the WiFi was up to speed for your lovely little boy. Hope to see you both again.
M&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were in Torquay again and decided to stay with Jane and Martin for a second time. Another perfect visit. Excellent welcome with scrummy home made fruit cake and tea and coffee, very comfortable and spotlessly clean room, brilliant breakfasts and a lovely atmosphere.

We shall definitely stay again next time we have occasion to visit Torquay and highly recommend the Daylesford.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DJF710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for the great review. It was lovely see you again and we look forward to your next visit. M&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our first foray away from taking the kids on holiday and we are so pleased with our choice. Our hosts were lovely and our room very clean and tidy. Their knowledge of the area was very good and they offered suggestions. The breakfasts were well cooked by Martin and nothing was too much trouble. Added bonus for us was the location just round the corner from Torre Abbey and at the bottom of a steep hill which meant no trekking to get back after a night out. Would highly recommend staying and hope to come back again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tullulah67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you again. M&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent first class accommodation. Attention to detail, lovely comfortable beds and beautiful bed linen, Lovely cooked breakfast. I cannot recommend this Bed and Breakfast enough, absolutely fab. Thanks Jane and Martin, We will be back.

Mr & Mrs Hughes
South Wales

Room Tip: Room 5 is lovely. It has a small lounge with TV off the bedroom. Bedroom has wall mounted TV Too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you all again. Jane & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

we stayed here last year in May and decided to come back as it was so lovely, all I can say is that this lovely hotel is even better now. Jane and Martin have put their own stamp on the rooms and the breakfast cake should be marketed by Jane ( homemade and delicious) The guest sitting room is really lovely and very welcoming and the breakfast is first class. A peaceful and beautiful place to stay, we will be back next time we are in Torquay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your great review. Come back for cake as soon as you can! M&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

just wanted to say how nice our stay was at the daylesford hotel in torquay,jane and martin made us feel so welcome with tea and cake on arrival,we stayed 3 nights and were very impressed, and would recommend it .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TINA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for the great review and look we forward to seeing you again one day. M&J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the Daylesford for 3 nights for my birthday arrived on the 27th May 2014 on arrival we were warmly greeted by the owners Jane & Martin with a lovely homemade lemon drizzle cake & tea the room we stayed in was so clean & spotless the breakfasts are out of this world with an excellent choice of various fresh fruits and cereals we would deffinatley stop at the Daylesford again. Martin & Jane even supprised me on my Birthday with a champagne breakfast (Thanks again both)

Jane & Mark Birmingham

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks very much for the great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. M&J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,236 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
0 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#42 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daylesford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daylesford

Address: 60 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £67 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daylesford 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation - Silver Award 2006, 2007 & 2008. Quality guesthouse providing a high level of hospitality and comfort. Located on a tree-lined road, within walking distance of the Riviera International Conference Centre, sea front and town, The Daylesford has a unique charm and character. For food lovers, we can provide personal recommendations to for example The Elephant Michelin Star Restaurant, The Number 7 Fish Bistro, Prezzo, Treasury brasserie and The Hole in the Wall, a truly excellent gastro-pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Daylesford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daylesford Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing