We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Delightful!”
Review of The Daylesford

The Daylesford
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Daylesford
Ranked #69 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dagenham, Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Delightful!”
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Simon & Dianne Lever should be very proud, their hotel is just wonderful. Very charming, comfortable and welcoming. They both really understand what it is their guests require and do everything to cater to every whim. The Junior Suite to quite lovely, simple but stylish. The hotel ia located in a quite street about a 15 minute walk from the Town Centre where there are many fine bars and restaurants. We had a very rememberable weekend, Simon & Dianne helped to make a special weekend very special indeed. All we can say is 'Thank You'.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
74
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

We have just returned from our second visit to the Daylesford Hotel Torquay. We can not praise this lovely hotel enough. The place is so clean and pleasant ,everything from the reception and dining rooms to the bedrooms is first class.
The couple who run the hotel are so helpful, they really put themselves out to make your stay an enjoyable one.
The breakfasts are superb, being cooked fresh while you wait with a good choice of menu. The hotel is ideally situated for all the local amenities and is just a short walk from the resort centre.This really is a great place to stay and we will certainly return here again.
Barabara and Roger from Lichfield Staffs.

  • Liked — cleanlines, great food, friendly and helpful owners
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rparkes994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2007

Excellent location for conference centre, central torquay is about 15 mins walk downhill (or instead walk 6-7 mins down to the main road then hop on the no 12 bus -they run every 10 mins). Taxi fare from the centre to hotel was just under a fiver. Taxis v. reliable and v. prompt (used Torbay taxis) and easy to get on spec, even at peak times.

Extremely friendly and welcoming hosts, mine of information.
Good breakfast, fresh cafetiere of coffee etc. Willing to accommodate earlier breakfast starts to fit with conference/early departure on last day.
Whole hotel and room (think they have 8 rooms) was spotlessly clean, obviously v. well looked after and v. well maintained.

Rooms a bit on the small side but maybe thats failry typical of small hotels like this. Would stay again at this hotel, happy to recommend.

If you cant be bothered to go into town, theres also a bar/diner just round the corner, unusual decor (blues brothers-ish), had a drink there (nice large beer garden, with external bar in shape of a piano! but v small internal bar. Seems to be more geared towards food- didnt eat there although spoke to someone who had and they said it was good.
For a bit of posh nosh definitiely eat at The Elephant in town - michelin starred, nice relaxed atmoshere in the brasserie downstairs, friendly staff, casual sort of dress place. Pricey but worth it.

  • Liked — fresh and clean, good breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cressi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2007

I stayed here as part of a group attending a conference at the Riviera Centre. Found the hotel to be very welcoming from the outset with tips on where to eat and visits.

Room was a little small but spotlessly clean. Breakfast was also lovely and great location for exploring.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — No natural light in room
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rumskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2007

We were a party of three couples attending a conference at the nearby Riviera Centre and all of us were equally full of praise for this accomodation. The welcome we received was first class with the owners keen to make our stay comfortable. Although the en suite rooms were on the small side they were well appointed and catered for all our needs. The breakfasts were comprehensive and freshly prepared and of a high standard. The hotel is well situated, near Torre Abbey Gardens and promenade, with parking.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bootsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2007

We picked this hotel for a one night break on the basis of earlier reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. I travelled with my two children (16 & 14) to catch a football match in Exeter the following day ... don't ask ... we lost :-(

We were greeted by Dianne and Simon and sat and chatted over a cup of tea, a nice touch and luckily the monsters I have at home were the most well behaved children I could have asked for sitting on the sofa. We had the family room on the ground floor which was very clean and welcoming. Also, and please take note bigger hotels, complimentary bottles of water were provided. The hotel is only a 5 minute or so walk from the sea and 15 minutes into the town centre so pretty central.

No dinner served at the hotel but we were recommended the Hole in the Wall pub, not far from Debenhams in the town centre. Unfortunately, although the menu looked great to me, it wasn't to the kids taste ... so we trotted off to Cockington and had a great meal in Drum Inn, but beware parking can be a challenge as the main car park (£3) is before the pub and the lengthy one-way system after it - park in the lane if you can!

Breakfast was great - the bacon was gorgeous and from the local butcher along with the sausages, and the scrambled egg was great, Simon told us that it was made with cream .. yummy.

The only negative point I can find is that we were the only guests at the hotel, yet the bigger guest house on the corner appeared to be full. No idea why, perhaps a lack of marketing, or maybe pricing which was a little on the high side. I should have haggled!

Would definately stay here again.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Gordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2007

Beautifully decorated, Excellent food, made to feel very welcome

Marian Sorby
Sheffield

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank snoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
152 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Westbank
The Westbank
#102 of 149 in Torquay
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wellsway
The Wellsway
#44 of 149 in Torquay
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#32 of 149 in Torquay
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daylesford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daylesford

Property: The Daylesford
Address: 60 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daylesford 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation - Silver Award 2006, 2007 & 2008. Quality guesthouse providing a high level of hospitality and comfort. Located on a tree-lined road, within walking distance of the Riviera International Conference Centre, sea front and town, The Daylesford has a unique charm and character. For food lovers, we can provide personal recommendations to for example The Elephant Michelin Star Restaurant, The Number 7 Fish Bistro, Prezzo, Treasury brasserie and The Hole in the Wall, a truly excellent gastro-pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Daylesford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daylesford Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing