We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly”
Review of The Daylesford

The Daylesford
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Daylesford
Ranked #70 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2009

The service was very good. We had a warm welcome and received good adresses for a nice dinner and places to go. We liked the room because is was very cosy and has a good bed. The hotel is near the trainstation but a 20 minutes walk from the center of Torquay. The english breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2009

We very much enjoyed a weekend stay at the Daylesford. The owners were extremely helpful and really went the extra distance to make our visit pleasant. Our room was in super condition, very clean and we had everything to make our stay comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and extremely good quality. The house is in a good location and nice and quiet at night. There is a lovely lounge where we spent a couple of hours relaxing and reading the magazines provided. Oh, and there is a good wireless internet connection. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shughes1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Located between the train station and town centre, this charming victorian house is ran by Simon and Dianne. Their hospitality and attention to detail is second to none. We stayed for a couple of nights in room 2 which is comfortable sized double with 'compact' en-suite. Breakfast is served between 0830-0930 hours which might be a little late for 'early birds' but just right for those wanting a more leisurely start to the day. Breakfast is cooked to order and is of a very high standard. We had a lovely stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyandjulieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Simon & Dianne Lever should be very proud, their hotel is just wonderful. Very charming, comfortable and welcoming. They both really understand what it is their guests require and do everything to cater to every whim. The Junior Suite to quite lovely, simple but stylish. The hotel ia located in a quite street about a 15 minute walk from the Town Centre where there are many fine bars and restaurants. We had a very rememberable weekend, Simon & Dianne helped to make a special weekend very special indeed. All we can say is 'Thank You'.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

We have just returned from our second visit to the Daylesford Hotel Torquay. We can not praise this lovely hotel enough. The place is so clean and pleasant ,everything from the reception and dining rooms to the bedrooms is first class.
The couple who run the hotel are so helpful, they really put themselves out to make your stay an enjoyable one.
The breakfasts are superb, being cooked fresh while you wait with a good choice of menu. The hotel is ideally situated for all the local amenities and is just a short walk from the resort centre.This really is a great place to stay and we will certainly return here again.
Barabara and Roger from Lichfield Staffs.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rparkes994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

Excellent location for conference centre, central torquay is about 15 mins walk downhill (or instead walk 6-7 mins down to the main road then hop on the no 12 bus -they run every 10 mins). Taxi fare from the centre to hotel was just under a fiver. Taxis v. reliable and v. prompt (used Torbay taxis) and easy to get on spec, even at peak times.

Extremely friendly and welcoming hosts, mine of information.
Good breakfast, fresh cafetiere of coffee etc. Willing to accommodate earlier breakfast starts to fit with conference/early departure on last day.
Whole hotel and room (think they have 8 rooms) was spotlessly clean, obviously v. well looked after and v. well maintained.

Rooms a bit on the small side but maybe thats failry typical of small hotels like this. Would stay again at this hotel, happy to recommend.

If you cant be bothered to go into town, theres also a bar/diner just round the corner, unusual decor (blues brothers-ish), had a drink there (nice large beer garden, with external bar in shape of a piano! but v small internal bar. Seems to be more geared towards food- didnt eat there although spoke to someone who had and they said it was good.
For a bit of posh nosh definitiely eat at The Elephant in town - michelin starred, nice relaxed atmoshere in the brasserie downstairs, friendly staff, casual sort of dress place. Pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cressi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2007

I stayed here as part of a group attending a conference at the Riviera Centre. Found the hotel to be very welcoming from the outset with tips on where to eat and visits.

Room was a little small but spotlessly clean. Breakfast was also lovely and great location for exploring.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rumskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#24 of 86 in Torquay
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melba House Hotel
Melba House Hotel
#97 of 150 in Torquay
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wellsway
The Wellsway
#54 of 150 in Torquay
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#26 of 150 in Torquay
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crimdon Dene Guest House
Crimdon Dene Guest House
#61 of 150 in Torquay
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Linden House
Linden House
#30 of 150 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daylesford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daylesford

Address: 60 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £68 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daylesford 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation - Silver Award 2006, 2007 & 2008. Quality guesthouse providing a high level of hospitality and comfort. Located on a tree-lined road, within walking distance of the Riviera International Conference Centre, sea front and town, The Daylesford has a unique charm and character. For food lovers, we can provide personal recommendations to for example The Elephant Michelin Star Restaurant, The Number 7 Fish Bistro, Prezzo, Treasury brasserie and The Hole in the Wall, a truly excellent gastro-pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Daylesford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daylesford Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing