We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Break Away”
Review of Kethla House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kethla House
Ranked #34 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have just returned from a four night break with my 90year old mother. We had a twin room on the ground floor which was prepared and maintained throughout our stay to the highest standard possible. Nothing was to much trouble for our wonderful hosts Andy & LIsa. They worked extremely hard throughout our stay to make this a most enjoyable break away in Torquay. The breakfast in the ground floor dining room was excellent and our every need was catered for, even down to putting a cushion on the chair as my mother is quite frail and doesn't have a lot of padding at the rear. They are considerate and hard working hosts who definately go the extra mile. I would have no worries about going back there again and would reccommend to anyone. Thank you Andy & Lisa.

Room Tip: Ground floor for poor mobility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

my husband and i have just returned from a lovely week in torquay staying at kethla house , it is our second vist there and it wont be our last! the room we stayed in was spotless and the breakfasts were delicious, i am wheat intolarant and andy and lisa provided wheat free sausages and bread, if you want a relaxing week or few days away i would recomend stayng at ketla house , nothing is too much trouble for andy and lisa , they really make you feel at home, i am sad to be home and cant wait to go back and vist them again soon!

Room Tip: we had a downstairs room at the back which was a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

poor customer service skills, nice until she is informed of a problem ruined our holiday by bad manners, bad rooms and poor food. breakfast was poor was told of dietry needs and ignored them!!! rooms are great if you like prison cells with good decor SMALL SMALL SMALL also very noisy at night

Room Tip: dont go there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otis1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I have just spent the past 2 nights at Ke'thla, and we would like to thank both Lisa & Andy for a wonderful stay, and for a very friendly welcome. We found the accommodation to be extremely clean and comfortable, the food was excellent. It's a refreshing change to find Business owners that go out of their way to make sure that they know ALL of their guests by their first names. We will be returning in the near future for another great stay. Best regards, Dave & Jennie.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights as a bit of a mini-break and were really happy we chose this B&B. Andy and Lisa were very welcoming, and made a point of remembering your name which I found really impressive. The room, although not huge, was very well appointed and had everything we needed - including a proper hairdryer - not one of those appalling ones that are screwed to the wall and about as powerful as a summer breeze! The room was spotless, the bed was comfy and a fan had also been provided in case the room became to warm. The breakfast in the morning was really good, and Andy managed to remember what everyone staying liked / disliked - not bad considering they were full! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ke'thla House, and if we find ourselves back in Torquay would more than happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 520Nita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Recently stayed at the kethla for a birthday weekend,got a great welcome room was clean and well maintained,nothing was to much trouble for the owners,only 15 min walk to town and beach,had a nice meal in the bull and bush near to hotel.great value for money andy and Lisa deserve a lot of credit will def return soon

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iveandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

It was our 10th wedding anniversary and lisa and andy were brilliant from start to finish.We arrived late thursday 9th may kept lisa and andy updated on our arrival,on calling lisa on thursday at 16.30 to arrange some flowers for my wife,she did not hesitate to get them for me which i was extremley grateful for.The room we stayed in had recently been reffurbished to a very high standard,the ensuite bathroom was to die for,breakfast very good selection,after a lovely day out on our anniversary,we returned to our room to find a bottle of wine and a card from lisa and andy which we thought was a lovely gesture.In all we stayed 4 nights and had a great time we will definatley return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#68 of 150 in Torquay
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#30 of 150 in Torquay
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#61 of 150 in Torquay
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#15 of 150 in Torquay
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#33 of 150 in Torquay
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 150 in Torquay
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kethla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kethla House

Address: 33 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £56 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kethla House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Kethla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kethla House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing