We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Torquay? Then it has to be The Marstan!”
Review of The Marstan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marstan
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My wife and I and my son and his girlfriend stayed at the Marstan for two nights in July to relax after our John O Groats to Lands End cycle. We made the perfect choice. The Marstan is in a class of its own! First class service in beautiful surroundings make the Marstan one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Ian and Craig have produced a unique offering - everything is simply perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

We thank this reviewer for their kind comments and congratulate them on successfully completing their 800+mile cycle ride. What an achievement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

spotless b&b,nothing too much trouble for owners,superb atmosphere,breakfast consisted of anything you wanted in a spotless relaxed dining room with very happy smiling ladies serving.
The owners Craig and Ian could teach some luxury hotels about customer relations.
Our room a double was spotless and comfortable,bathroom was also perfect with a shower that delivered plenty of hot water.The Place To Stay In Torquay !

Nick + Ella (the oldest teenagers in the world)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were made to feel so welcome for our entire two night stay, they went out of there way to make our time there the best. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable, bathroom small but modern and spotlessly clean, Breakfast was beautiful, with there own personal touch, couldn't have asked for better service in a lovely atmosphere. Ian and Craig were the best, made me my first ever pimms which was gorgeous with the fresh fruit. Also the cab we ordered never turned up so they took us down town in their own car. Would have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We would normally go for a larger hotel, but there is a lot to be said for a smaller guest house such as The Marstans. We were greeted with a pot of tea as we checked in and our bags were taken straight to our room. It was as if we were being welcomed to the home of a close relative and we felt very relaxed in the company of owners Craig and Ian, who rustled us up a gorgeous omelette 10mins after we arrived :-). Our room was comfortable and whilst it may not compare to the sharpness of a 5 star city hotel, it was very clean and airy and very good value. The breakfast was better than any hotel we have stayed in,being freshly cooked to your order, rather than stagnating under a hot lamp as is often the case elsewhere!. It was served in a peaceful and comfortable dining room. Probably the best remark we can give to this hotel is that having left his belt at home, my husband enquired of Craig whether he may have a suitable one. Craig instantly took of the belt he was wearing himself and gave it to my husband!! Now that is what you call 'service' ... We will definitely be back for another stay, maybe for a bit longer next time :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

'After much searching on the Internet for somewhere nice to stay for a short break in Torquay, we certainly made the right decision in booking The Marstan.

On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Ian. We were offered a cup of tea/coffee whilst our bags were taken to our room. We were given a short welcome briefing about the hotel and the local area and it was clear that nothing would be too much trouble if we needed help with what to do, where to go, booking restaurants etc.

The room was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed and antique furniture in keeping with the character and style of the hotel.

A list of restaurant recommendations was most welcomed and the three restaurants we chose from the list were all top class; Jingles Mexican, Yum Sing Chinese and The Orange Tree.

Breakfast was a very relaxing experience in the beautiful dining room, with a varied selection of breakfast options, freshly cooked to order and absolutely delicious. No need for lunch !

Sadly we did not get the opportunity to use the swimming pool or hot tub due to the typical English summer holiday weather, but hopefully next time.

The hotel is ideally situated, only a 5-10 min walk into town and the beach is at the bottom of the road.

We would have no hesitation in recommending The Marstan and will definitely book again for our next trip to Torquay. Thank you Ian & Craig for our lovely stay.'

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harmey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I have been visiting Torquay with my family for years and always stayed At the Grand hotel. This visit was business and as the Grand was full I had to find alternative accommodation....what a joy to find such a gem as The Marstan! Delightful hosts, spotlessly clean and simply the best breakfast I have enjoyed. I would love to have taken advantage of the pool and hot tub but the rain took care of that. The Marsten may not have the hustle and bustle of a big hotel but it has a quaint charm that makes it a delightful place to stay, I would definitely come back and happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My boyfriend kindly took me to Torquay to this beautiful hotel as a treat and what a treat it was! When we first arrived after visiting Paignton Zoo, we were welcomed into the lounge and asked if we would like a drink. (which was a lovely touch) Our luggage was taken up to our room which had a view of the garden. Even though the weather was awful, (which could not be helped) there was nothing stopping us from getting in their hot tub in the garden! We were given towels and dressing gowns, the shed was opened up for us to put our items in, and the hot tub ready for us.
The bed was so comfortable we had such an amazing night sleep, it was hard getting out of bed! The rooms as were the rest of the hotel are of a vintage taste which we both loved.
There is a lot of choice for breakfast in the morning and the full english breakfast we had tasted great! My boyfriend had fresh fruit too which he enjoyed and so was the fresh orange juice and coffee.
The only thing I would have changed from this trip would have been the restaurant we chose to eat out in but that was our own choice. However, beforehand we did enjoy the fabulous piano playing as we were waiting for our taxi to the restaurant.(which they kindly ordered for us)
I could not recommend this hotel enough and I will be telling everyone I know how kind the hospitality of Ian and Craig provided for us. Thank you very much to the both of you and I hope to see you again this year after our holiday to Mexico.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian1970, Owner at The Marstan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Thank you for this very kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back in August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 85 in Torquay
541 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
623 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marstan

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#3 Business Hotel in Torquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £85 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marstan 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marstan Hotel is an elegant mid-Victorian Villa peacefully located along Meadfoot Sea Road in a conservation area. The harbour and town are approximately ten minutes walk with the blue flag awarded Meadfoot Beach and its stunning views being less than five minutes on foot. An extensive refurbishment program saw The Marstan achieve a five-star guesthouse rating in 2007. In keeping with the period of the building, the hotel is traditionally furnished with antiques complemented with modern amenities such as contemporary bathrooms, flat screen televisions, wifi and ipod docking stations. The Marstan is the only five star guesthouse in Torquay to benefit from a combination of an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and a licensed bar. The owners and staff endeavor to provide an attentive and personal service without being intrusive, with the aim of creating a luxury boutique hotel ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Boutique Hotel Torquay
The Marstan Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing