We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marstan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
492
65
9
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
65
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubgrand pianohomemade granolameadfoot beachrestaurant recommendationscup of teaon arrivallocal areaguest housefabulous breakfastcooked freshwarm welcomequiet areaperfect hostslocal knowledgecoastal pathfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
524 - 529 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2008

From the moment we walked through the door we were impressed by the warm welcome from the owners of this hotel. After a long journey it was lovely to be greeted with such friendliness. Nothing was too much trouble and the owners' local knowledge really added to the holiday.
Our room was very impressive, spacious, very comfortable and tastefully furnished and above all immaculately clean. The breakfast was first class and again the staff were wonderful. It was really useful to be able to park off-road and really near to the hotel entrance.
This is an excellent hotel and it really lives up to its web-site specification. We look forward to our return to the Marstan Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizguf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

We stayed here weekend of 27th October 2007, we were greeted by Craig who was excellent, extremely friendly with helpful knowlegde and tips on local attractions and a good guide on the best local restaurants, we took up their recommendations and found an excellent Indian. Breakfast was excellent and it was clear that alot of thought and effort had been put into the menu, the sausages were to die for !!
Very clean, extremely comfortable beds set in a very attractive period building. Top Notch

Overall an excellent stay, wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Matt & Lynne, Cheshire

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mattylad-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

Got off to a bad start as we arrived to check in at 10.30am (didn't realise check in was at 2pm, it did not mention this on reservation form) after a trans-atlantic flight, we were totally exhausted and were looking forward to some English hospitality.

We were turned away and pointed to the direction of town, wouldn't let us unload our luggage or anything. Wouldn't have bothered to check in at 2pm if they didn't have my credit card details. Upon check in we were informed our room was ready earlier but the landlord was not at home to receive us.

Useless facilities in an otherwise charming room.
Situation just out of the town was great and I'm sure we would have enjoyed our stay had it not been for our first day.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank ukwelsh_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian1970, Proprietor at The Marstan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2007

We would like to thank the reviewer for their positive comments and would like to take the opportunity to respond to the negative ones and correct some incorrect information in the review.

The reviewer booked via our online booking system. During this process one is asked to tick a box agreeing to our terms and conditions. This includes our cancellation policy and clearly indicates a check in time of 2pm. A copy of our terms and conditions is automatically emailed once the booking is complete and is also available online.

Given our checkout time is 11am and that the housekeeping staff require time to clean all the rooms, we are unsure as to how we could have given the impression that we could check someone in at 10:30am. Additionally the owners need this window between check-in/outs to run errands.

We appreciate the frustration experienced by the guest at not being able to check in after an arduous journey but they gave no indication to us that they intended to arrive so early. Although we wouldn’t have been able to check them in we would have ensured one of the owners were present and would have offered refreshments and taken luggage. I reiterate that we were given no indication whatsoever of the arrival time.

We would respectfully point out that we know of no hotel in the world that has a check in time of 10:30am at any price level. The industry norm is 10am check out and 3pm check in, a standard that we exceed.

I hope that provides our perspective on events. We genuinely look forward to welcoming trip advisor users in the future from all over the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

We just got back from our holiday in Devon & Cornwall.
The Marstan Hotel is a very good small hotel with good service.
It is in a quiet neighboorhoud and just a short distance from the town center and the beach. Rooms are spacious and very clean. There is a heated pool and a hot tub available for the guests.
Recommendable. Great value.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

A very impromptu trip to Torquay was enhanced beyond all measure by the efforts of Ian and Craig, the proprietors of the Marstan Hotel.
Despite the short notice and the holiday season, we were fortunate enough to be given the Regal room (room 4) which was beautifully appointed and ridiculously large, given typical UK room sizes. The en suite shower room had obviously been recently refurbished and everything simply gleamed. One of my first points to evaluate a hotel's quality is checking the standard of provided toiletries and Taylor's of Harrowgate hardly disappoints!
As we drove up to the door, Craig was standing in the porch to welcome us with a refreshing cup of tea and run through the details of the house. Ian and Craig take a lot of pride in their concierge service and they are right to - they have put a lot of effort into trying various restaurants and bars around the town, including sample menus and recommendations. We elected to visit No 7, a fish restaurant in Torquay, and Craig was not only knowledgable about the time of each sitting, but managed to get us a table in about ten minutes. It wasn't until we reached the restaurant and realised how very packed it was that we appreciated how he must have pulled a few strings to get us in!
Nothing is too much trouble at the Marstan - we borrowed needle and thread, had cups of tea in the jacuzzi and played (badly) on the grand piano. The beauty is that all this attention is remarkably unobtrusive - it was much like having your own personal genie who would suddenly appear!
The location of the hotel might not suit all people - it is up quite a steep hill from Torquay, but despite my walking difficulties we managed to conquer it once or twice. Clearly the beers beforehand gave us added strength. The hotel is five minutes walk downhill from a really beautiful coastal walk around the headland and the associated Meadfoot beaches, or ten minutes from Torquay town centre. We tended to walk down and then consider a taxi back - it was only a few pounds each time. However, the walk helped us to burn off some of Craig's delicious breakfasts!
We cannot recommend this hotel enough and we will doubtless be back again in the future. An absolute gem - we feel very lucky to have found it!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vorlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews