We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marstan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
492
65
9
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
65
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubgrand pianohomemade granolameadfoot beachrestaurant recommendationscup of teaon arrivallocal areaguest housefabulous breakfastcooked freshwarm welcomequiet areaperfect hostslocal knowledgecoastal pathfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just got back from a mini break having re-acquainted ourselves with the Marstan after a couple of years away. Even better this time around, warm welcome, great breakfasts (from a great fry up to smoked salmon and scrambled egg bagels).

Ian and Craig are the perfect hosts, happy to chat and give you info on the local area but also allowing you some space to just chill. The weather being so good we spent a couple of hours relaxing by the pool - with Craig providing welcome refreshments (the local cider was good!)

If you aren't sure where to go to eat make sure you ask your hosts, they have a list of the main restaurants and have sampled most of them, also they have a keen interest in the local area and can offer suggestions on where to go and what to do.

Its a small business and they really are passionate about service, if you want a quality time in a nice relaxing area this place should be on you list ! We will be back.

A quick trip if you are travelling down, the main road into Torquay is currently being 'improved'... meaning traffic jams, use your satnav and head towards Babbacombe instead, you'll get there quicker.

Room Tip: Previously we've stayed in the family room, this time around we were without kids and in room 10, both are great !
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jools27u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Craig and Ian gave a very warm welcome. Premium room was very comfortable. Great choice of quality items at breakfast, freshly cooked items, homemade bread and granola. Super bar where Craig amused us with outrageous anecdotes!! Ideal location for a short walk to the best restaurants in Torquay. A bonus was the very well kept pool - I'll bring Speedos next time! Would return, therefore highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DorsetTedwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Me and my partner were welcomed to the Marstan by Craig and Ian after escaping a nearby 'resort' establishment. We are so glad we moved.

The overall experience was outstanding, the attention to detail and service would put many larger five star hotel chains to shame.

The rooms - we initially had a normal double, then moved to the four poster, were nice, perfectly cleaned and the beds were very comfortable. I would recommend the four poster over the standard double, lovely aspect over the pool to rear.

The facilities and service - the external pool and hot tub area was very relaxing, and being bought drinks to the hot tub a real treat. The gracious drawing room was charming, with the grand piano and timeless luxury decor oozing quality. The bar provided an intimate setting to relax and spend time talking with Ian and Craig the owners as well as the other guests, all in such a good mood, no doubt because of their stay at the Marstan. Craig and Ian were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, from booking car hire to restaurant recommendations, towels for the beach etc.

The breakfasts - delicious, with excellent service and little treats such as mini pastries and champagne infused preserves.

All in all an excellent experience, which salvaged our holiday and made it special.

Room Tip: Four poster room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SWJB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Really pleased we booked The Marstan.

Ian was very welcoming on our arrival. Lovely touch to be given a map and list of restaurants.

Stayed in room 2 - compact double. Perfect for us as we were only in need of a base for the weekend.

Comfortable bed. Large and clean bathroom.

Breakfast was great. Cooked to order. Fresh coffee. Great way to start the day.

Craig was lovely, explained an alternative route to drive home to make the most of the coastal path.

We ate at Jingles and orange tree. Both only a ten min walk.

Will return to the Marstan.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lilmissboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I travel all around the world staying in many hotels etc. The Marstan guest house is world class. Ian and Craig are fantastic hosts. We stayed in Room 6 the four poster bed room overlooking the Swimming pool and Hot tub. The room was spotlessey clean and well presented. We had a drink in the sung Bar before going out for dinner, where Craig played the Piano beautifully and made my girlfriend cry, it was stunning. I had arranged flowers and Champagne for the room this was all taken care of by Ian and Craig. The Breakfast was all cooked fresh and tasted so good. If you are thinking of visiting Torquay, do not hesitate in booking this guest house. The attention to detail and the time that is spent by both hosts are incredible. Many bigger hotel hotels could lean a lot from this guest house.

Thank You Ian and Craig for the most wonderful stay, be will be back before the end of the year. You made the very precious time we have together very special, I thank you bother so much.

Room Tip: Room 6 is special. Overlooking the pool and Hot Tub.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews