We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super comfy king sized bed!”
Review of The Marstan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marstan
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is a great place, would highly recommend a stay here. Very high standard, extremely clean and lovingly cared for. We enjoyed the king room and a massive tasty breakfast every morning, tea etc in the room, big TV, large bathroom. Off road parking as well. Lovely quiet area of Torquay within easy walking distance of the town and Meadfoot beach. All very relaxing.......

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights over the august bank holiday, staff were friendly, the room was big with a huge bed and a big bathroom nice and clean. The hotel had some nice period furniture and was well located ten minutes walk from the harbour and beach. The best thing in my opinion was the breakfast, there was a buffet with fruit and cereals and a huge choice of freshly prepared hot food including traditional English breakfast, smoked salmon bagels, smoked kippers and pancakes!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davex44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was the first time we had visited Torquay, so before we went we did allot if investigation as to where to stay, after much deliberation we chose the Marstan, good reviews etc, our problem was that it did not meet our expectation, whilst the owner was very friendly and helpful we found the place cold and uninviting, whilst we were there the weather was not kind and our room was cold, heating not on,there was a distinct lack of hot waters, no where to pug in the electric tooth brush and the pillows where very hard, you may find this a little picky but for what we paid we didn't, it not a cheap place to saty
The breakfast 8.30-9.30 am very old fashioned, but the food was excellent and good service no moans there.I have to say I would not recommend this to family or friends..

Room Tip: AS there is only 9 rooms it makes little difference it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank roaminggeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian1970, Owner at The Marstan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the positive comments within. It was indeed unseasonably cold during your stay. Despite it being August, we did switch on the central heating. I appreciate that the room you booked is very large, with high ceilings and a triple aspect sash window, therefore it may not have been adequate. However, it is frustrating that during your four-night stay, you said nothing to us. It would have been so easy to rectify this – we have portable oiled filled radiators available that could have been put in your room, there is also a blow heater in the wardrobe that you may have missed. Furthermore I would have happily have turned up the central heating.
With regards to hot water. There is always hot water available, this particular room is quite far from the tank and it does take a few minutes for the water to run hot. Again, we were not given the opportunity to explain this.
During your stay we had a lot of amicable interaction with yourselves and enjoyed your company in the bar and at breakfast. At no point did you mention any of the complaints that you have chosen to post online.
I appeal to people on this website – please give us an opportunity to put something right, we know that we are not perfect but we are very approachable. We would happily have spent a few extra pounds on electricity and gas to ensure that this guest had a comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful stay. Perfect location. Perfect room. Perfect hosts and perfect breakfast.
Welcoming and friendly staff and owners. Couldn't do enough to please. Tricia's service at breakfast is second to none. I stayed a weak and nobody got the wrong order. She's a whiz and an absolute asset. Delicious quality food which was cooked to perfection and presented beautifully.
Would highly recommend and will be returning. 10/10

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A very warm welcome and Craig was so helpful in suggesting restaurants and places to eat. He even rang and made a reservation for us so we didn't have to bother ourselves
The Marstan is well maintained and our rooms were spotlessly clean with tea making facilities which is such a bonus. the two ladies serving breakfast were so polite and cheerful it was a very pleasant start to our days. The cooked breakfast and choice was 5star and served piping hot with lovely home made yummy marmalade and lovely fresh fruits if you wanted them . The location could not have been better for Meadfoot beach as a two minute stroll away. You can walk into torquay centre in ten minutes but be aware that it is a very steep walk back. The car park is a bit tight but no problem as you can park on the road outside the hotel with no restrictions.
We will definitely recommend The Marstan to friends and family as nothing could have improved our stay.
We have stayed at five star hotels all over the world and some of them could learn a thing or two from The Marstan guest house well done guys !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I had planned to write a long review about all the amazing and wonderful things about The Marstan, but I've decided I can sum it up in just one sentence.

The Marstan is the place all others should aspire to be like, perfect in every way.

Thank you and sorry about the late night visit.

Ian & Emma.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just had 5 nights at the Marstan, first class, exceptionally clean, good location and very quiet, Ian and Craig are great hosts and provide excellent recommendations on places to go, ate out 5 times on their advice and were not disappointed. We will not hesitate to return.
The Greens.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 85 in Torquay
541 reviews
3 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
937 reviews
0 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marstan

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#3 Business Hotel in Torquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £88 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marstan 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marstan Hotel is an elegant mid-Victorian Villa peacefully located along Meadfoot Sea Road in a conservation area. The harbour and town are approximately ten minutes walk with the blue flag awarded Meadfoot Beach and its stunning views being less than five minutes on foot. An extensive refurbishment program saw The Marstan achieve a five-star guesthouse rating in 2007. In keeping with the period of the building, the hotel is traditionally furnished with antiques complemented with modern amenities such as contemporary bathrooms, flat screen televisions, wifi and ipod docking stations. The Marstan is the only five star guesthouse in Torquay to benefit from a combination of an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and a licensed bar. The owners and staff endeavor to provide an attentive and personal service without being intrusive, with the aim of creating a luxury boutique hotel ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Boutique Hotel Torquay
The Marstan Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing