We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
509
66
9
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
66
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub grand piano homemade granola meadfoot beach restaurant recommendations local area on arrival guest house warm welcome cooked fresh perfect hosts coastal path quiet area full english breakfast was delicious fantastic hotel relaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

My wife and I stayed at The Marstan for three nights recently. We found our bedroom bright, comfortable and very clean. The bathroom lacked a shelf for toilet requisites and could do with an electrical point for shavers, electric toothbrushes etc.

We couldn't fault the service and the quality of the breakfast offered. Nothing was too much trouble. The guesthouse is located about ten minutes' walk up a steep hill just outside the eastern part of the town centre so we wouldn't recommend it for those with mobility impairments, small children etc.

Room Tip: Set aside fifteen minutes to ascend and descend the steep hill!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VegCrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

What a wonderful stay, Ian and Craig were great. Fabulous breakfast. Even used the hot tub and had a sunbath as the weather was great. Short walk to the beach and town. Rooms were clean and great decor. I would definitely recommend a stay at the Marstan!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amypulford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Craig and Ian were the perfect hosts - Craig gave us a wonderful welcome in the stunning drawing room, with cup of tea to accompany welcome information, including thoughtful restaurant suggestions and local map.

Premiere room was fab - superking bed with fabulous decor, felt fab relaxing in the gown and slippers with a nice cup of hot chocolate from the room tray.

Room and bathroom (walk in shower) was spotless. Nice selextion of toiletries also supplied - shampoo, shower gel and moisturiser.

Outside nice pool and hot tub to relax in.

Breakfast was fantastic- Craig's secret recipe muesli was great. Selection of cereals, fruit, spreads and a menu for hot breakfast; I strongly recommend the bagels with salmon and scrambled egg! The other half had full English and the pancakes also full marks!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank emma4530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

This was our first visit to the Marstan Hotel and we were very impressed.
On arrival we received a warm, friendly welcome from Craig (one of the owners) and a nice cup of tea! He advised us about the hotel and local places of interest that we might like to visit in the area.
The compact double room was very clean and tidy with lovely decor (as was the rest of the hotel).The bathroom had a beautiful black and white chequered tiled floor and a wonderful walk-in power shower!
The breakfast (especially the traditional English) was cooked to perfection and there was a large selection of food to choose from; cereals, fresh fruit and even a granola (the hotel's own recipe) which was particularly tasty!
The waiting staff were very friendly, polite and attentive, as were all the staff at the hotel.
There was a swimming pool but unfortunately it was not hot enough weather to benefit from this!
We left our car in the car park and used public transport or local taxis (which were reasonably priced) to do sight seeing.
There is a small local beach, Meadfoot bay which is within walking distance from the hotel and plenty of restaurants, bars and cafes down the hill.
If you want a calm, pleasant and welcoming environment in Torquay, this would be the ideal retreat.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms perhaps a tiny bit noisier as guests walk through the corridor and up the stairs
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Ian and Craig are exceptionally hospitable hosts. Very relaxing stay, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Super breakfasts.
The hotel is in the best, quieter, part of Torquay, close to Meadfoot Beach and within walking distance of several good restaurants close to the Harbour, although it is quite a steep hill to walk back up.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetTedwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews