We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all it's cracked up to be” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marstan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marstan
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not all it's cracked up to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

We paid a lot for the room we had but it had wallpaper coming off the wall, skirting board had paint coming off a crack in the ceiling. Owners were ok just a little rude sometimes . Overpriced drinks and food from the bar. Not a great view from the back of the dining room - the extension on the side had paint coming off. No fresh fruit only tinned.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ildivo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian1970, Owner at The Marstan, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear ildivo12,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations for this visit. We note that you are a valued returning guest that has visited us on three occasions previously and that you have kindly written us positive reviews in the past.

We take on board your comments and I agree that the room was showing signs of wear and tear. It was one of the first rooms that we decorated when we bought the hotel, which I appreciate was five years ago at the time that this review was written.

This room was renovated shortly after your stay and was completely refurbished again in January 2015. We endeavour to redecorate our bedrooms on a five-year rotating basis (money permitting).

We always listen to customer feedback and have improved our breakfast offering. Now, in addition to tinned fruits on the buffet, we provide a fresh fruit tropical fruit salad and a bowl of fresh strawberries, raspberries and blueberries.

We appreciate that given your bad experience, you may not wish to return to The Marstan. However, if you are prepared to give us a fifth chance, we would be delighted to welcome you and your mother back.

Best Wishes

Ian Krender (Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    60
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
334
16
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

This is a wonderful small hotel. The owners Ian and Craig went above and beyond being accommodating. Our car broke down on arrival and ended up at the local garage. With an 8 month old baby we were unable to go and collect it. Everyone jumped to help. Jean ended up driving us in her own car as she had her great grandsons carseat in it.
Absolutely lovely people who can't do enough for you.
The hotel is immaculate, and very well presented. Our room had a handy iPod dock and flat screen tv (which was handy for cbeebies!). Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, and cereals and fruit on offer too. I just wish we had had enough time to use the pool and jacuzzi.
Just watch out for the hill walking back up from the main seafront. A killer with the pushchair. However, there is a quiet beach just minutes from the hotel in the other direction.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winni_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

What can you say about this wonderful hotel that has not already been said.
We arrived early to see if we could leave the car and were met by Ian that said our room was ready should we wish to book in, so we took the opportunity.
We were led into a wondeful lounge to check in, a Grand Piano sitting in the bay window. We were given a map of Torquay and a list of resturants that Ian and Craig recommend to eat in.
After checking in we were led to our room, Regal Room 4.
We were amazed by the room, a definate Wow factor.
I did sneak down to hear Ian play the piano for guests that were leaving, a very accomplished piano player
We were keen to try out the Hot Tub and rang down to see if it was ok, a few minutes later towels and dressing gowns were thereto use. The hot tub was set at a wonderful 38 degrees, we were asked if we would like a drink and settled on a rose wine for myself while hubby had a Gin and tonic.
We asked Ian if he could book us a table for the following evening at The Orange Tree resturant.
The Marstan dining room is really a site to behold, we were seated at our table by Craigs Mum. We ordered tea and our breakfast Hubby had a full english and I had cheese omlette, the breakfast buffet had homemade granola and yoghurt and Craigs Mums homemade marmalade.
Nothing was too much trouble.
We retuned larer in the day and went again in the Hot tub, then back to the room.
We had pre dinner drinks in the bar .
This is a wonderful but homely hotel and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueLincolnshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Ian, Craig and Craigs Mum all looked after me really well. Craigs Mum was like my own Mum while staying there bless her. My room was small but very clean and tidy. I had a cooked breakfast on 1 morning and it was lovely. The other mornings I had cereal and fruit. Craigs Mum insisted on me taking a Banana to eat during the day! I was really well looked after, they even cooked me an evening meal! Nothing was too much trouble and I will definately be going back to stay. Thanks Craig, Ian and Craigs Mum! You were all so nice and it was a pleasure to stay with you x

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

We first stayed at the Marstan in 2006 when I was looking on the Internet for somewhere to stay in Torquay where I used to go on holiday as a child. We loved it as much on our latest stay in June 2010 as we did then. Ian and Craig make you feel welcome from the minute you first ring the door bell to the moment your stay comes to an end.

They always have great recommendations for places to dine or trips to take. We managed to do 3 of those in one day and all were really enjoyable. The breakfasts are always amazing and we loved the new additions to the menu. We also loved having a drink at the bar while having a chat with Ian about the days events.

The hotel itself is lovely too with its beautifully decorated Victorian rooms. The lounge with it's beautiful piano and the breakfast room next to it have lovely views of the garden, pool and hot tub. Our particular favourite bedroom, the Regal Room, has a gorgeous view, very comfortable bed and is really spacious.

We love the location as it is near to Meadfoot beach where you can hire a beach hut for £10 for the day if you wish, or head down the hill to the harbour, restaurants and shops by the clock tower.

We would thoroughly recommend the Marstan and indeed do frequently to friends and family who have also visited/are about to visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZacAbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

We booked this as a last minute getaway and were not disappointed. We only stayed one night but nothing was too much trouble for Ian & Craig, we stayed in a King room which was a good size and spotlessly clean, the choice of breakfast was very good from freshly baked croissants to full english, with the lovely weather we made use of the sun loungers, outdoor pool and hot tub which was very relaxing. You can take a slow walk to the harbour which takes under 15 mins, a little uphill on the way back, also close to a small beach in the other direction. The restaurant recommendations Ian and Craig provided were excellent, we were a bit limited due to it being a Sunday so tried the Hole in the Wall (fabulous steak). This would be an ideal base for a longer holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank take_a_breakBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed for four nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and were totally impressed with Ian and Craig's genuine hospitality throughout our stay.
We had booked a double and thought it a wonderful gesture when we were up-graded to the four-poster room over-looking the pool.
Their knowledge of the best places to eat were spot on every time, and thanks to their reccommendations we enjoyed a fabulous evening on our anniversary at the Orange Tree, which was within easy walking distance from the hotel.
So, thanks again guys for a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimcraigneeday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marstan

Property: The Marstan
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 Family Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marstan 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marstan Hotel is an elegant mid-Victorian Villa peacefully located along Meadfoot Sea Road in a conservation area. The harbour and town are approximately ten minutes walk with the blue flag awarded Meadfoot Beach and its stunning views being less than five minutes on foot. An extensive refurbishment program saw The Marstan achieve a five-star guesthouse rating in 2007. In keeping with the period of the building, the hotel is traditionally furnished with antiques complemented with modern amenities such as contemporary bathrooms, flat screen televisions, wifi and ipod docking stations. The Marstan is the only five star guesthouse in Torquay to benefit from a combination of an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and a licensed bar. The owners and staff endeavor to provide an attentive and personal service without being intrusive, with the aim of creating a luxury boutique hotel ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Marstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Boutique Hotel Torquay
The Marstan Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing