We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay...”
Review of The Buccaneer Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Buccaneer Inn
Ranked #133 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay...”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Buccaneer Inn for six nights as a last minute booking and we loved everything about it! We booked the spacious, beautifully decorated Sloop room which boasts stunning panoramic views over Lyme Bay from the seating area. The double bed was comfortable, there is a good sized en-suite shower room, also in the room is a small fridge and microwave with the usual beverage tray.
The Buccaneer is a family and dog friendly pub with a lively atmosphere serving great food - you might have to wait if they're busy but it's worth it! Good service from all the staff working there.
Marion and Steve are friendly, welcoming and helpful hosts and if we return to Babbacombe (which is likely as it's a fantastic place) we'll definitely stay at the Buccaneer again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed the buccaneer for a 3 night stay, we initially thought we had paid for b&b but this was not the case we found when we checked in on arrival. The sloop room we stayed in was lovely with an ocean front view of babbacombe beach. We had tea/coffee making facilities with a small fridge and microwave, however these were never topped up and our bed was never made up by room service. We also had a tv in the room which only received 1 channel which was a little limiting. The staff were helpful and friendly and the outside area was lovely in the evening for a nice glass of wine. We didnt eat in the pub however it was always busy and the choice and variety seemed good at reasonable prices. I would stay in this location again as its picturesque with all the amenities you require. The Cary arms pub is a must with lovely sea views over the bay,it's about a 5-10 walk down by the side of the theatre. Torquay town is 5-10 minutes by car or a 35 minute walk. The model village and the Kent caves are definitely worth a visit. I enjoyed my stay at the buccaneer however i would look about at other accommodation in the area where breakfast was included.

Helpful?
Thank Simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buccaneermanagement, Owner at The Buccaneer Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Simone R, thanks for confirming how beautiful the room and view is and complementing the staff friendliness.
Regarding your other comments it seems that unfortunately you did not read the website correctly when making your booking, as it very clearly states that breakfast is not included in the price. This makes the rooms at the Buccaneer substantially cheaper than hotels in the area and gives guests the choice of ordering breakfast when here should they require it - which you declined to do.
We do not in any of our advertising, website or otherwise, make any pretense to be a hotel and so do not provide a maid service to make beds or top up consumable items provided in rooms. However, we always tell guests to ask if they need anything at all, and you did not request anything to be replaced during your stay, so it is a little unfair to criticize this in your review.
Also, the TV has over 50 channels and was working fine when I checked it after seeing your review - you presumably hadn't used the remote control correctly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We were very fortunate to come across this hotel because our visit wasn't planned! We managed to find this hotel which is absolutely beautiful in every way. The people that run it are lovely and really make you feel at home, the food, service and breakfast was also fantastic. The room was beautiful and the view from the room is stunning. We will definitely be returning and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sahman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

stayed here 3 weeks ago for 4 days the accomadation and food was that good we booked and went back last week for 5 days, the host's marion and steve always give you a warm and friendly welcome and are always smiling, we will be back again in september/ october without a doubt

Room Tip: rooms in babbacomb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We found this room on the Internet after a random search and we are so glad we went for it!
The room we stayed in was beautiful and had the most amazing view of the coast, the couple that own the pub were so lovely and welcoming, it made us feel right at home, they were also really knowledgeable about the local area and suggested lots of things we could do over the weekend.
The pub itself is so friendly with great staff and we found ourselves having a drink in there every night.
I really cannot recommend this place enough and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lheatherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

top class rooms very clean and tidy, food was excellent, the owners made our stay a very pleasureable one, booked again for another stay.

"well worth a visit"

Room Tip: babacombe hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonygreen250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#47 of 149 in Torquay
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Downs, Babbacombe
The Downs, Babbacombe
#34 of 149 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#52 of 149 in Torquay
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#46 of 149 in Torquay
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
#51 of 149 in Torquay
265 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer Inn

Property: The Buccaneer Inn
Address: 43 Babbacombe Downs Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer Inn Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing