We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magnificent find for a last minute booking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Buccaneer Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Buccaneer Inn
Ranked #140 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A magnificent find for a last minute booking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

so we found the Buccaneer after searching for the bank holiday weekend as a last minute decision to visit Torquay and the B&B we were looking to stay at was fully booked, and we thought that the price for the rooms looked too good to be true, The experience did not disappoint. Upon arriving in Babbacombe we found the carpark situated at the back of the Inn really easily, once we turned the corner and saw the lovely sea views, this was a great start. We entered the Inn and were greeted by Steve and Marion, who were by far some of the best hosts we have ever experienced. After being shown to our rooms, this was what we were waiting for as we had been dubious because of the price.....WE WERE NOT DISSAPOINTED...the rooms were lovely, spacious, excellent views, great facilities, very quiet, and most important very clean, it was like a home from home and what we did like was that we were not disturbed by anyone and if we needed anything we just had to ask. We had some food and it was amazing an plentiful !! we were disappointed that we could not have breakfast here, but this IS NOT a criticism as we knew that before we arrived, we were only disappointed because we knew it would be amazing ...but we had breakfast and the Angel tea rooms next door, that was sensational, but beware BOOK as it is very popular. The array of drinks at the Buccaneer was fab, as was the atmosphere and friendly people. All in all we had a great time for a great price, we will be back If we can get in so thankyou for a very enjoyable stay....Lesley/Shaun, Laura & Sean......

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We where do I start, we only found out about this fantastic little place by accident, as I was looking at all the B&B`s on Babbacomb Downs, which is where we had chosen to stay, however, they were all booked up so I carried on looking on google map and just noticed the pub which I found very quaint and colourful with all the glorious plants. As I zoomed in to take a closer look, I noticed a sign in an upstairs window advertising luxurious rooms to rent and I was lucky enough to secure my booking!! So we have just spent 4 lovely days at the Buccaneer Inn.
I was a bit dubious about staying above a pub, because of the noise aspect and never having done it before, however I had nothing to worry about as these Two exquisite rooms have been very cleverly sound proofed so even on very busy Friday and saturday nights we could hear nothing!!!! The rooms have a huge fabulous indoor balcony with seating and panaramic views across the bay. They are lovely and clean, very modern and the bed was devine! It had a very spacious immaculately clean bathroom with beautiful crisp, clean and pure white linen! (They don`t call me the hotel Inspector for nothing!) There was tea, coffee and biscuits on arrival with fresh milk in a small fridge and there is also a microwave should you bring a late night snack back!
Marion will cook you a breakfast if you order the night before, however, there is no need as there are a number of good little cafes offering excellent breakfasts, one being right next door!

What I really loved about staying here is that the Owners are very warm and welcoming and upfront about their room service which is: there is none! This meant that we were left alone for the whole of our stay as they do not provide cleaners or someone to make your bed, which was great as I like my privacy, and I did not have to tidy my room every day!! But if you needed anything replacing you only had to ask! I would recommend these rooms to anyone, I have stayed In Five star Hotels which did not have comfortable beds nor did they have that personal service.

Food is excellent!! but I must warn you not to have lunch before you come for an evening meal as the meals are HUGE! Meals are delivered to your table but, having seen some of the reviews moaning about having to help themelves, DO NOT EXPECT TO BE WAITED ON, THIS IS A PUB SERVING INEXPENSIVE RESTAURANT QUALITY FOOD NOT AN EXPENSIVE RESTAURANT, THIS IS REFLECTED IN THE PRICE! There are plentiful , good quality condiments and utensils to set your table yourself whilst you are waiting for your food and be sure to get yourself a drink before you sit down to your meal as it is not waitress service.

If you are Traditional ales drinkers then you will be in PARADISE! as the beer is fantastic and obviously Steve and Marion really care, as this reflected in the taste, after all their dedication and hard work, it has paid off, as they have achieved the coverted CAMRA membership award this year and they really deserve it! My husband was in his element, being a CAMRA member this was the pub of his dreams!
All in all we had a fantastic stay at the Buccaneer which was all down to Steve, Marion and their fantastic team! and for this, Keith and I would like to say a massive thank-you to you all!

WE WILL BE BACK!!!

Kind regards
Mandy

Room Tip: Two rooms only, both of a very high quality with panaramic views across the bay, book them up quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed two nights in The Sloop room. Big comfortable bed spotlessly clean with beautiful views across the bay. The food in the pub was 1st class and hosts Steve and Marion were very welcoming.There's a lovely atmosphere in The Buccaneer and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Buccaneer Inn for six nights as a last minute booking and we loved everything about it! We booked the spacious, beautifully decorated Sloop room which boasts stunning panoramic views over Lyme Bay from the seating area. The double bed was comfortable, there is a good sized en-suite shower room, also in the room is a small fridge and microwave with the usual beverage tray.
The Buccaneer is a family and dog friendly pub with a lively atmosphere serving great food - you might have to wait if they're busy but it's worth it! Good service from all the staff working there.
Marion and Steve are friendly, welcoming and helpful hosts and if we return to Babbacombe (which is likely as it's a fantastic place) we'll definitely stay at the Buccaneer again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed the buccaneer for a 3 night stay, we initially thought we had paid for b&b but this was not the case we found when we checked in on arrival. The sloop room we stayed in was lovely with an ocean front view of babbacombe beach. We had tea/coffee making facilities with a small fridge and microwave, however these were never topped up and our bed was never made up by room service. We also had a tv in the room which only received 1 channel which was a little limiting. The staff were helpful and friendly and the outside area was lovely in the evening for a nice glass of wine. We didnt eat in the pub however it was always busy and the choice and variety seemed good at reasonable prices. I would stay in this location again as its picturesque with all the amenities you require. The Cary arms pub is a must with lovely sea views over the bay,it's about a 5-10 walk down by the side of the theatre. Torquay town is 5-10 minutes by car or a 35 minute walk. The model village and the Kent caves are definitely worth a visit. I enjoyed my stay at the buccaneer however i would look about at other accommodation in the area where breakfast was included.

Helpful?
Thank Simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buccaneermanagement, Owner at The Buccaneer Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Simone R, thanks for confirming how beautiful the room and view is and complementing the staff friendliness.
Regarding your other comments it seems that unfortunately you did not read the website correctly when making your booking, as it very clearly states that breakfast is not included in the price. This makes the rooms at the Buccaneer substantially cheaper than hotels in the area and gives guests the choice of ordering breakfast when here should they require it - which you declined to do.
We do not in any of our advertising, website or otherwise, make any pretense to be a hotel and so do not provide a maid service to make beds or top up consumable items provided in rooms. However, we always tell guests to ask if they need anything at all, and you did not request anything to be replaced during your stay, so it is a little unfair to criticize this in your review.
Also, the TV has over 50 channels and was working fine when I checked it after seeing your review - you presumably hadn't used the remote control correctly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We were very fortunate to come across this hotel because our visit wasn't planned! We managed to find this hotel which is absolutely beautiful in every way. The people that run it are lovely and really make you feel at home, the food, service and breakfast was also fantastic. The room was beautiful and the view from the room is stunning. We will definitely be returning and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sahman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

stayed here 3 weeks ago for 4 days the accomadation and food was that good we booked and went back last week for 5 days, the host's marion and steve always give you a warm and friendly welcome and are always smiling, we will be back again in september/ october without a doubt

Room Tip: rooms in babbacomb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#49 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#48 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Downs, Babbacombe
The Downs, Babbacombe
#37 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#45 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer Inn

Property: The Buccaneer Inn
Address: 43 Babbacombe Downs Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer Inn Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing