We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Staffs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Super value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Spent 5 days here, ok,the rooms are dated but have everything you need, although I did have to ask for a hair dryer, the room was cleaned and the sheets and towels changed daily, no biscuits on the complimentary drinks tray, but more than enough tea, coffee etc.
The food was fresh, hot and plentyful and offered a good choice, The service was excellent and very well organised. The staff were very friendly. The hotel offered a large roof terrace but flowers and planters would have enhanced it. My only gripe was that the front door had to be locked at all times, a nuisance as we only had one key between my hubby and I..
The harbour was a 15 min steep walk down hill, but there is a very regular bus service with a stop practically outside the hotel.
We saw a bit of the hotels' entertainment which was quite good. The bar prices were very good but the bar tended to close at about 11pm, all in all, for the money you pay, we found this hotel a great base and very good value for money and we would definately return.

Room Tip: take your own hair dryer and multi -plug
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daffyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    79
    82
    63
    72
See reviews for
43
139
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

The mystery superdeal trip was booked in Cardiff at Leisuretime , It was for myself and my daughter to get away for the weekend,We found out it would be to torquay six days before the 8th april.Picked up near our home in ST Mellons by Paul the driver in a comfortable coach full of other holiday makers all in good spirit some my age and older, had a good laugh on the way listening to nice music and some good jokes from the driver.The greeting from the hotel staff were very friendly and our cases were outside our rooms waiting for us,The room was clean had a small tv on the wall white fluffy towels white cotton beding a hairdryer and a kettle ,tea ,coffee etc,The evening meals were three courses and so were the breakfasts all very nice i ate the lot ,and they even made a special efert for my pregnant daughter who was going though a jacket potato with cheese and beans fad at the time, the warm indoor pool was enviting we were the only two in it on the sunday afternoon, the trips were to Plymouyh on the saturday and Dartmouth on the sunday we had a great time .the entertainment was good and on all three nights, and the comedian Barry on the saturday was a scream, the staff were so polite and couldent do enough for you we evan had the beds made and fresh towels every day and the best bit, and you will find this hard to belive is that it was all for just £ 79.00 how they do it i just dont know but they do it extreamly well.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weekendgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Stayed at The Burlington Hotel on trip with Leisuretime.
Our room was small but comfortable and had everything we needed in it.
Staff were very friendly,bar prices were very good. Pint and large wine £4.90.
Food was well presented and tasty.
Did not watch evening entertainment as we went for a walk into centre of Torquay but those that watched it said it was excellent.
It has a heated indoor pool and sauna with plenty of white fluffy towels available.
The harbour and shops are approx 15 mins walk away.
Would definately return and make sure I took bathers next time.
The only downside was that not all rooms had showers but they did have a bath, it was not a problem for us as we were only there one night and it would not put us off staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank red_dragon1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport gwent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

Thank you for a wonderful stay ...clean...warm.....lovely food .....only one tiny gripe please ensure the TV's are tuned in properly other than that i nothing but praise and that includes Diane the lovely lady that did our room ......i will be back

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moogieenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Recent visit to the Burlington Hotel in Torquay.
We arrived as part of a coach tour, welcomed by staff, given keys to rooms fine no problems
with that at all. Did ask for a quiet room on low floor but that waSs ignored.
The room next to the entertanment room so at night it was very noisey, if you wanted an early night no chance.
Food was very good but basic no frills, restuarant staff very good, drinks very good fair price.
Hotel all in all was fair rated at 2 star only just, ok for a few nights but no longer.
The best part was the entertainment, very good but a bit loud for the size of the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tkw397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Swansea, Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Hotel is only a short walk down the hill to town, on No 12 bus route. Main problem the hotel was very cold, the central heating was not effective (outside temperature very low). Bedrooms small. Staff great, friendly, food okay but basic and small portions. Saying that you get what you pay for and all in all for the weekend, it was okay. Cleanliness good, entertainment enjoyable, company great, thanks Marion and Dave, wish we had more time to get to know you both.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GingeSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

Stayed here on coach tour. Great location. Very clean hotel with excellent service. The staff could never do enough for you. The only down sides are the decor is very dated and the shower cubical in my room was so small opening i scraped my belly and back to get in and out. Ok i have a 42 inch waist.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markr1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#80 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#70 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#77 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#67 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing