We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For what you pay, its fine”
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #85 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“For what you pay, its fine”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Travelled here on 22nd June for 2 nights stay with Leisuretime - I think this hotel must only accept bookings from tour companies as only Leisuretime clients were staying when we were there. After reading some of the earlier reviews, we were dreading it! (please look at my previous reviews to get an idea of the hotels I normally stay in!). However, we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, its dated - yes, it needs an overhaul and yes, it is a good 10-15 walk down the hill into Torquay - but as a previous reviewer has said, there is a bus stop and its 90p one way. A cab costs about £5 to £6 pounds which is OK if there are 4 of you. The room we were allocated was at the front of the hotel and was quite large (well, larger than we were expecting) and it was clean. The bedding was fresh and the towels were fine. My only gripe was the bathroom as there was mould in the shower - However, we were armed with bleach and mould and mildew spray and after a good spray around, it was fine. The staff - EXCELLENT and cannot be faulted - polite, helpful, courteous - that's really important. The food was fine too - so, all in all no complaints and it was nice to pleasantly surprised! We didn't experience the entertainment at hotel. For the price, it's value for money!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CCVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    84
    86
    65
    83
See reviews for
44
151
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Travelled to Torquay on 21.6.12 for a two night stay with Leasuretime tours from Crosshands, West Wales. We were originally booked for the Mayfair hotel, but was changed to the Burlington Hotel,to which we paid £69 When we arrived we were greated by staff who quickly got us all sorted with our keys so we could go to our rooms after our long journey. The rooms we had were on the ground floor, one was a single with shower and was very spacious, the other was a twin with bath but no shower. All rooms had tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel was a bit of a way out of torquay, but a bus stops just down a bit and cost under £2 return to go to seafront. The breakfast was great and plenty, the evening meals were also great with choice of about 5 starters, main course and sweets.Evening entertainment very good. I would stay here again and recomend. However I would rate it as a 2 star. But staff were very friendly and nothing to much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daviesd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We travelled to the hotel with leisuretime travel,Hotela little dated but rooms very clean,food was good, would certainly go back good value for money, also recommend leisuretime travel.

Room Tip: If you have differcult with getting around as for a ground floor with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacko5764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This hotel is a little shabby and in need of some refurbishment. It's also not very easy to get around if you're disabled.
Having said that, the staff are very friendly, the food is fine and served up very efficiently, the rooms were clean, and we enjoyed our stay.
I understand why people have been critical, but for the prices that are charged it's difficult to complain.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R0binsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Awful stay....

Rooms were filthy, dusty and smelt HORRIBLE!!! Bathroom was even worse, can't really understand how they are allowed to let people stay in rooms this filthy. No Shower, just a bath which was disgusting as not cleaned, tiles hanging off...

Breakfast better than I expected, staff very friendly though.

If you want a short stay in Torquay, don't come here. Will never return...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We travelled with Travelstyle from Manchester less than £80,per person for travel, dinner, bed and breakfast for 3 nights.
Hotel needs updating but owner aware of this, I guess he gets so little from the travel company that he just keeps staff in work and pays his way. Rooms were clean, towels etc., spotless, staff lovely and the food, I have eaten in 5* and the food has not been as good, great choice, quick service and could eat everything, such good quality. Pool was very inviting but changing area could do with a good scrub, but put that down to people who use it as well as staff. Great place to catch bus to get out and about.

Room Tip: Double on back, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This was also a Travelstyle holiday and we also didn't expect 4 star hotel but we travel alot and this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. We arrived dead on 6.30p.m after a long journey which is the set meal time and we were hearded into the dining room without being allowed to freshen up. Meals were ok and dining room staff friendly but that's where it stops. We got to our room and it was disgusting, small and basic, not welcoming at all. It smelled musty and dusty and with me having asthma the dust made me cough. I ran my fingers over furniture and no way had it ever been cleaned, there was inches of dust. The bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom, well where do i start. The tiles at side and behind loo had human waste on it. The shower was full of mould we had to have wash in sink all weekend we couldn't get in that. The room had brown stains running down the walls. The net curtains were dirty and the curtains were different lengths and didn't fit. They didn't empty bathroom bin all weekend so it sat with rotting sanitary protection all this time. If you people from wales think this hotel is clean then you are having a laugh and no way will i be staying in any hotels near you. The settee in the tv room was ripped. Don't even try and watch tv as you got no chance. There was two water leaks during the weekend which didn't seem to get sorted. Do yourself a favour and stay away and Travelstyle please find us something clean!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rae21465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#74 of 87 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#84 of 87 in Torquay
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#73 of 87 in Torquay
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing