We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“god-awful, real life fawlty towers”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Llanelli
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“god-awful, real life fawlty towers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

we stayed in the hotel burlington. we traveled with Liesure Time (coach) and found faults straight away. The bathroom was full of mold, we had to ask for a new bathmat and the shower curtain was black with mold. At times the reception were rude to guests and the swimming pool was broken along with the spa. It was not just our room other rooms were just as dirty. Written in the dust was the word "HELP". The rooms were schorching hot and the air-con was broken, the hotel was like a maze with no lifts. The only thing is the dining service was good.

Room Tip: just dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    79
    82
    63
    72
See reviews for
43
139
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
runcorn, cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

My husband and myself had a long weekend in this hotel a couple of weeks ago. It was a coach holiday we booked and the hotel was allocated when we got off the feeder coach onto the main coach for the onward journey. When we were told the name of the hotel we searched on my phone for reviews and were a little apprehensive. Yes it is dated and in need of some tlc, but the service from the staff was fantastic, the food was great, which from me is praise indeed as i am nothing if not fussy. On the first evening meal when entering the dining room we were asked if we minded sharing, to which we answered no that's fine and we got sat at a table with another couple and 2 men travelling alone. We got on fine with these people, had a laugh about things we had done during the day etc. Overall this was a most enjoyable break in a lovely part of our fair country and we would definately go back and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nanaRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed in the hotel from 23rd July till 27th July 2012 and had a most enjoyable stay. The hotel was comfortable, clean and the staff were extremely polite and helpful. We both felt we got very good value for money and would not hesitate to stay here again on a return visit to Torquay.

Room Tip: We were delighted to have a room with a shower, had we not it may have been different. Even without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

we stayed at the burligton on 20 07 2012for 2 nightsgood staff good entertainment food pretty good what are pepole moaning about 79 pounds per person they need to wake up would go back again no problem.

Room Tip: room 54 low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gareth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here in July was pleasantly surprised the hotel was clean and food good although everyone eats at 18.30 and you must choose what u want in the morning. On the negative side no lift and steep stairs some rooms quite small. My bathroom was tiny (not a problem) but at least i had a shower i understand alot only have baths. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Entertainment every night. 10min walk to town centre although uphill on way back or 90p bus ride.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deen-Tyauvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Travelled here on 22nd June for 2 nights stay with Leisuretime - I think this hotel must only accept bookings from tour companies as only Leisuretime clients were staying when we were there. After reading some of the earlier reviews, we were dreading it! (please look at my previous reviews to get an idea of the hotels I normally stay in!). However, we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, its dated - yes, it needs an overhaul and yes, it is a good 10-15 walk down the hill into Torquay - but as a previous reviewer has said, there is a bus stop and its 90p one way. A cab costs about £5 to £6 pounds which is OK if there are 4 of you. The room we were allocated was at the front of the hotel and was quite large (well, larger than we were expecting) and it was clean. The bedding was fresh and the towels were fine. My only gripe was the bathroom as there was mould in the shower - However, we were armed with bleach and mould and mildew spray and after a good spray around, it was fine. The staff - EXCELLENT and cannot be faulted - polite, helpful, courteous - that's really important. The food was fine too - so, all in all no complaints and it was nice to pleasantly surprised! We didn't experience the entertainment at hotel. For the price, it's value for money!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CCVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Travelled to Torquay on 21.6.12 for a two night stay with Leasuretime tours from Crosshands, West Wales. We were originally booked for the Mayfair hotel, but was changed to the Burlington Hotel,to which we paid £69 When we arrived we were greated by staff who quickly got us all sorted with our keys so we could go to our rooms after our long journey. The rooms we had were on the ground floor, one was a single with shower and was very spacious, the other was a twin with bath but no shower. All rooms had tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel was a bit of a way out of torquay, but a bus stops just down a bit and cost under £2 return to go to seafront. The breakfast was great and plenty, the evening meals were also great with choice of about 5 starters, main course and sweets.Evening entertainment very good. I would stay here again and recomend. However I would rate it as a 2 star. But staff were very friendly and nothing to much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daviesd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#80 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#70 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#77 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#67 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing