We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not bother”
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #86 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not bother”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Went on 17th February for four nights. This hotel needs lots of refurbishment. Although it boasts a pool it was never available. Although the heating was on it felt damp in the room possibly alright in the summer. The bathroom was mouldy in the shower. You can have juice or cereal for breakfast but not both.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank woodies767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    81
    82
    63
    74
See reviews for
43
141
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Plus points Food was nice, hot and waitress service. Beds comfy. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Negative points bathroom small desperately needs modernisation, no room in their to put a toilet bag, our room didn't even have a loo roll holder. Furniture in bedroom outdated and full of previously drilled holes. Leisure suit looks nice in photos but smells, paint is peeling and ceiling was leaking, sauna and steam room out of order floor tiles cracked. Changing area didn't look enticing. They closed leisure suit soon after we looked at it as the lights fused. No lifts there are a few flights of small stairs. There is entertainment but I didn't partake.

Room Tip: Might be useful to state at booking if you prefer a bath or shower in your room. Hotel is 2 star so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

our friends & myself & hubby had a coach holiday with Sunrise, we stay at this hotel the staff were Brilliant but the hotel does need some tender loving care. Lots of repairs need doing and the rooms we were in the lights went out in the evening and the rest of the rooms near us were the same only the bedside little lights work this was reported one of the staff put a small lamp on the landing where our rooms were but it was a worry for all of us as it was on the floor and was a fire rise. One of our group put the lamp on a shelf which was better. The food in the restaurant was OK I think they are on a tight budget but it could do better. It was nice to have indoor pool but the heat of the pool was over 85 which is to hot for the pool & the lights in the changing rooms were out?. The Entertainment was very good and the rooms were clean & beds comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from a 5 day coach holiday at The Burlington courtesy of David Urquhart Travel and we had a lovely time. From our arrival until we departed we were met by some of the most helpful staff I have ever encountered, nothing was too much trouble for them. Our bedroom was clean and warm with nice white towels and loads of tea, coffee etc. The service in the restaurant was first class with all our meals arriving at our table quickly and hot, and also served with a smile. There is a good selection of evening meals on the menu, which changes daily, and we were spoilt for choice with the breakfast selections available. The bar staff were friendly and polite, the drink prices were the cheapest I have seen in a hotel for a long time, and the entertainment every night was good. I would recommend a stay at this hotel and we will be returning later this year. Many thanks to all the staff 5* service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My mother and I were part of coach tour which were moved to this hotel at short notice by the tour company.We have nothing but praise for all staff-everyone was friendly and they all went out of their way to create a very friendly,relaxed atmosphere.The rooms were fine and all the bedding/towels etc were pristine.The meals were of good quality and there was a wonderful selection to choose from.There was entertainment each night,this was varied and enjoyable.A thoroughly enjoyable stay-thankyou.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We arrived with a coach party on nov.29th on arrival there was a delay with allocating our rooms
which was through no fault of the hotel as they had been given the wrong list of names by the
tour operators.The staff were very friendly and did their best to sort the problem out.We have no
complaints as regards to our room and we thought the food was excellent again all staff helpful
and friendly.We are planning a second visit to Torquay and would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Verena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed there for two nights on a coach tour and whilst not the hotels fault , it is not suitable for wheelchair users . The hotel whist bring a little dated is more than compensated by the excellent staff who bent over backwards to help us. Cannot thank the head waitress there enough

Room Tip: If your are infirm or disabled this is not the best hotel to bok
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEE029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#80 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#52 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#88 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#71 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#77 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#70 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing