We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe everything you read”
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #83 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Went to this hotel as part of a coach tour and was a little uneasy after reading the reviews on here, but we have to say we can't see what people are moaning about - yes the place does need a bit of modernisation but hey its just somewhere to eat and sleep at the end of the day, yes you could pick fault with this and that at The Burlington but we have stayed in far worse and paid a lot more for the pleasure - the room was basic but clean and the sheets and towels were pristine white, there was ample tea and coffee available and the staff were some of the best we have come across, nothing was too much trouble for them they really went the extra mile and it was so nice not to have a language barrier as you do in so many other hotels -the food was fantastic from the more than ample breakfast on offer to the choice of evening meals which were very tasty and hot and once again the staff were fantastic during service.
All in all you get what you pay for and The Burlington is excellent value for money and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is deep on history and has many artefacts, such as the furniture and Televisions that together could gain much financial aid to help refurbishment. What more can I say- the rooms have splendid views of Torbay - or should say its brambles and broken pavings - staff are lovely food us excellent . Overall you get what you pay for , we had a good time and can't complain ....it us what you make of it ...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6,742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Went on 17th February for four nights. This hotel needs lots of refurbishment. Although it boasts a pool it was never available. Although the heating was on it felt damp in the room possibly alright in the summer. The bathroom was mouldy in the shower. You can have juice or cereal for breakfast but not both.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank woodies767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Plus points Food was nice, hot and waitress service. Beds comfy. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Negative points bathroom small desperately needs modernisation, no room in their to put a toilet bag, our room didn't even have a loo roll holder. Furniture in bedroom outdated and full of previously drilled holes. Leisure suit looks nice in photos but smells, paint is peeling and ceiling was leaking, sauna and steam room out of order floor tiles cracked. Changing area didn't look enticing. They closed leisure suit soon after we looked at it as the lights fused. No lifts there are a few flights of small stairs. There is entertainment but I didn't partake.

Room Tip: Might be useful to state at booking if you prefer a bath or shower in your room. Hotel is 2 star so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

our friends & myself & hubby had a coach holiday with Sunrise, we stay at this hotel the staff were Brilliant but the hotel does need some tender loving care. Lots of repairs need doing and the rooms we were in the lights went out in the evening and the rest of the rooms near us were the same only the bedside little lights work this was reported one of the staff put a small lamp on the landing where our rooms were but it was a worry for all of us as it was on the floor and was a fire rise. One of our group put the lamp on a shelf which was better. The food in the restaurant was OK I think they are on a tight budget but it could do better. It was nice to have indoor pool but the heat of the pool was over 85 which is to hot for the pool & the lights in the changing rooms were out?. The Entertainment was very good and the rooms were clean & beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from a 5 day coach holiday at The Burlington courtesy of David Urquhart Travel and we had a lovely time. From our arrival until we departed we were met by some of the most helpful staff I have ever encountered, nothing was too much trouble for them. Our bedroom was clean and warm with nice white towels and loads of tea, coffee etc. The service in the restaurant was first class with all our meals arriving at our table quickly and hot, and also served with a smile. There is a good selection of evening meals on the menu, which changes daily, and we were spoilt for choice with the breakfast selections available. The bar staff were friendly and polite, the drink prices were the cheapest I have seen in a hotel for a long time, and the entertainment every night was good. I would recommend a stay at this hotel and we will be returning later this year. Many thanks to all the staff 5* service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My mother and I were part of coach tour which were moved to this hotel at short notice by the tour company.We have nothing but praise for all staff-everyone was friendly and they all went out of their way to create a very friendly,relaxed atmosphere.The rooms were fine and all the bedding/towels etc were pristine.The meals were of good quality and there was a wonderful selection to choose from.There was entertainment each night,this was varied and enjoyable.A thoroughly enjoyable stay-thankyou.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 85 in Torquay
413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,303 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 85 in Torquay
903 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £40 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing