We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst ever disaster stay away.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worst ever disaster stay away.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently did a weekend coach break to the Burlington on arrival at the hotel it looks run down and shabby, the rooms were even worse.We were given a ground floor room at the front of the hotel room 50, on opening the door the smell hit you, the walls had damp and dirty patches all over them and the bed had an old style velour headboard with filthy patches on where peoples heads had been, I went straight back to reception and was given the keys to a top floor room 44 this was marginally better but definately not up to a " good class hotel" as it had been described by the coach company. The second roon had a bath but no shower therefore i had to go and by a jug to wash my hair, the mirror was one side of the room and the socket the otherso i also had to buy a mirror so i could dry my hair on the whole it was an absolute disaster. There was supposed to be a pool, it was not in use neither was the sauna etc.but i doubt it would have been clean enough to use anyway.The food and staff were ok but the rooms need totally gutting.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sandra1041932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    79
    81
    62
    72
See reviews for
41
138
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

my in-laws went to this hotel around 5 weeks ago. they found this to be the best place they have been to plenty to do.nice people to talk to. they went from friday to monday. there room was over looking the main road the room was very clean+ the staff was very helpful + the entertainment was very good also. reception staff were always there to help at all times of the day.they are planning to return back to the burlington hotel in october as they enjoyed there time there very much.the food was always very hot and plenty to eat. i look at some of the reviews that peole put on the site but they must be staying somewear else as myself+my husband could not find nothing wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulleyshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very scruffy, shabby and dirty. In need of refurbishment. Linen was clean or there's no way I would have stayed. The staff were very friendly on a plus side. But I would not stay here again or recommend it to friends or family.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at "The Burlington" (Monday to Friday last week) as part of a coach party and having read negative reviews we wondered if we were in the same hotel..The hotel staff could have not be more helpfull, reception always ready to help, dining room service excellent, and the bar staff friendly and efficient with very reasonable drinks prices.
The food was very good with plenty of choice and nicely cooked, and of good quality.
The entertainment each night was very good and varied, Chris Chaplin?? What do they feed him on???
The room a little on the small side but very clean and towels changed each day and tea/coffee facilities replenished each day.
All in all a very good stay and i just wonder what people expect for a budget holiday, i suggest they pay five star prices if they want a five star hoted.

Room Tip: We had room 28 and it was only a short walk from reception etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from a Monday to Friday stay at the Burlington, we travelled as part of a coach party and were very pleased, The room was not huge but was very clean, the staff were always helpful the service in the dining room was really good the food was always hot and plentiful.
The Entertainment was excellent and varied and the bar prices were comparable to most pubs and for the price we paid we could not fault it.
This hotel has no lift (We were aware of this)and has quite a few steps........ but as there are only 2 floors it is not a real problem I have slight mobility problems and I managed very well.


We used public transport and the bus stops are very close to the Hotel with access to most area's of South Devon.
All in all a very good value for money break

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rustie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Vistited hotel Burlington 3 d s comes to mind disgusting damp and dirty the hotel needs knocking down it stinks of damp black patches over the walls there was only 9 of us in the whole hotel now I know why very very very dated shower door hanging off it had a slip mat for the shower it was corroded dirty the bed must of had bugs I was lousy for 4 days ended up putting a towel down to lay on the television was a old portable full of dots curtains dirty smelly makeshift wardrobe had a mixture of nasty cheap hangers in there and a smelly old bitty blanket from world war one we was told thete wad a pool we was took to this it stunk like the rest of the hotel black patches again pool was covered over halfway the rest of the cover was ripped that pool hasn't been used in a long time I wasn't taking any chances I would of ended up in hospital and I'm not exaggerating the sauna had big rusty oversized exposed pipes we was told there was no entertainment which should of been the only thing nice about the place was are waitress sue she wad lovely and the chef / doorman please please avoid this hotel I think it should be demolished they haven't the right to call it a hotel the lazy owner doesn't care.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Well we were rather worried about travelling to the burlington after reading the previous posts but we were pleasantly surprised. We arrived for a long weekend. Yes this is a case of the owners not listening to the people who matter the paying customers. The hotel does need some money being spent on it, it lacks kerb appeal as the outside is a bit tatty but with a bit of cash spent on this and a clean up of the canopies it would make a world of difference. Going into the. Reception is a bit like going back in time there has been an effort made with new carpeting but not enough to save the poor place.
The staff are fabulous and cannot do enough to help you but again this doesn't compensate for lacking in other areas. The hotel is situated on the main road into Torquay so has the opportunity and the potential to make more of itself, if the owner is unable to make these changes he should look for other ways might I suggest investors!
The room are adequate and yes they are small but not sure what exactly you would want to do in them,other than sleep and dress. To be fair the shower rooms are less than basic they need major overhauls and the space is very tight being two foot wide, but the water was hot. In our room the fan only came on when the light was off rather annoyingly meant we had too have the light on all night so we did not disturbed others. The linen was clean and the the bed was old but it was ok. The pool was open but forgot my costume so had to make do with a look it was all clean and tidy. The grounds lacked care and attention and cried out for a gardener. The car park was at the rear a bit confusing to find as no signs up, you had to then walk around to the front to get in with no lighting.
Food was good and plentiful, the waitress had been called in at the last minute, and was very helpful. Meal times were 8.30am and 6.30pm and there didn't appear to be any leeway on these times.
The TV in the room was awful and had no remote, for a small cost this too could be rectified.
All in all it was okay but as I said the hotel desperately need some investment in it as there other more superior hotels vying for customers money. Wake up and smell the coffee is my advice to the owners or you will not have a hotel left.

Room Tip: Room 54 at the hotel was okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#66 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing