We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what i expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not what i expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel was a fare bit out of the town and had to catch a bus to get there. The shower in our room didnt work and it took them 3 days to fix it. The food was good and the waiting staff were excelent. The entertainment was good as were the bar staff. Overhaul i dont think i would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    79
    81
    62
    72
See reviews for
41
138
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a weekend coach, first of all the checkin was very quick, as for the room it was very small, but as we were just spending one night it wasn't a problem, the bathroom was also small and only had a bath and no shower which was more of a problem, the TV was so old that it had a built in video player, the room was very clean what was a +, the staff were also very polite, the dinner and breakfast were nice, it was about 10 minutes walk to the sea front, it was good value for what we played but l wouldn't like to stay there for more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorry60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Thank you to the staff at the Burlington you where very polite, friendly and efficient. Yes it's a basic hotel but clean and comfortable.
I enjoyed my stay and found the location ideal for the town centre and beaches, maybe to far for less able people but excellent bus service available.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently did a weekend coach break to the Burlington on arrival at the hotel it looks run down and shabby, the rooms were even worse.We were given a ground floor room at the front of the hotel room 50, on opening the door the smell hit you, the walls had damp and dirty patches all over them and the bed had an old style velour headboard with filthy patches on where peoples heads had been, I went straight back to reception and was given the keys to a top floor room 44 this was marginally better but definately not up to a " good class hotel" as it had been described by the coach company. The second roon had a bath but no shower therefore i had to go and by a jug to wash my hair, the mirror was one side of the room and the socket the otherso i also had to buy a mirror so i could dry my hair on the whole it was an absolute disaster. There was supposed to be a pool, it was not in use neither was the sauna etc.but i doubt it would have been clean enough to use anyway.The food and staff were ok but the rooms need totally gutting.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sandra1041932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

my in-laws went to this hotel around 5 weeks ago. they found this to be the best place they have been to plenty to do.nice people to talk to. they went from friday to monday. there room was over looking the main road the room was very clean+ the staff was very helpful + the entertainment was very good also. reception staff were always there to help at all times of the day.they are planning to return back to the burlington hotel in october as they enjoyed there time there very much.the food was always very hot and plenty to eat. i look at some of the reviews that peole put on the site but they must be staying somewear else as myself+my husband could not find nothing wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulleyshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very scruffy, shabby and dirty. In need of refurbishment. Linen was clean or there's no way I would have stayed. The staff were very friendly on a plus side. But I would not stay here again or recommend it to friends or family.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at "The Burlington" (Monday to Friday last week) as part of a coach party and having read negative reviews we wondered if we were in the same hotel..The hotel staff could have not be more helpfull, reception always ready to help, dining room service excellent, and the bar staff friendly and efficient with very reasonable drinks prices.
The food was very good with plenty of choice and nicely cooked, and of good quality.
The entertainment each night was very good and varied, Chris Chaplin?? What do they feed him on???
The room a little on the small side but very clean and towels changed each day and tea/coffee facilities replenished each day.
All in all a very good stay and i just wonder what people expect for a budget holiday, i suggest they pay five star prices if they want a five star hoted.

Room Tip: We had room 28 and it was only a short walk from reception etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#66 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing