We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enthusiastic keepers/staff. Envolved all the kids.”
Review of Living Coasts

Living Coasts
Ranked #9 of 63 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Living Coasts, an all weather attraction, located on Torquay seafront in South Devon, where there’s plenty to see and do: mingle with the playful penguins, get up close to the otters, octopus and seals, and much more. Visit Penguin Beach to walk with the African and macaroni penguins and catch our entertaining feeding time talks.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Enthusiastic keepers/staff. Envolved all the kids.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Good value, tho bit on the small side/although more personal experience. Penguins open to walk amongst the guests... (if the Penguins want to (which they do!)). Enjoyed feeding the Penguins time, V good education speaker+associates - learnt lots (me and my daughter)..

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    950
    584
    301
    86
    58
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing unexpected attraction”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

For the 1st two days of our stay in Torquay we were intrigued by the netting we could see on the top of the cliff to the south-east of the harbour. We asked a local guide in the harbour who told us it was "a bird display thing that's not all that". Later that day we decided to have a quick peep anyway and we are so glad we did.

Inside you are treated to viewing penguins which, whilst they have cordoned-off enclosures, they are still free to walk amongst the visitors and occasionally one will walk across the "penguin crossing" in front of you. I've never been so close to a penguin!

The other displays are great too... we enjoyed the fascinating otter feeding.

This is a well-run and properly executed attraction. Well worth the entrance fee.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's okay.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

It says it in the title, we had a nice time here but as many other reviews state the underwater viewing glass needs a good clean, spoiling an otherwise ok visit, the kids enjoyed themselves which was the main point of going.

Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good to see exotic birds but let down by cafe”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I came here with my family, including my two toddlers. We all enjoyed the experience. As somebody else mentioned, the glass could do with a good clean, and the tunnel is a bit pointless. The exhibits were pretty good, and my boys really enjoyed the water feature and the sandpit that they could play in.
The cafe was a bit rubbish. After walking around my boys were hungry. To stop serving food around 3pm in a tourist attraction is poor. What they did have, a pre-packed grated cheese sandwich, was expensive at more than £3.
It's OK, but needs more investment for the £11 per adult they charge.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian_D1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“The Keeper Experience is a must”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The keeper experience was a gift, it was such an enjoyable day out. You get to sit with the penguins handing out sprats to them, then you can move on to feed various other animals. The keepers are all very helpful and it's so interesting to hear first hand the stories and information about the animals.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Living Coasts also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Living Coasts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing