We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you have the passes from the zoo”
Review of Living Coasts

Living Coasts
Ranked #9 of 63 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Living Coasts, an all weather attraction, located on Torquay seafront in South Devon, where there’s plenty to see and do: mingle with the playful penguins, get up close to the otters, octopus and seals, and much more. Visit Penguin Beach to walk with the African and macaroni penguins and catch our entertaining feeding time talks.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok if you have the passes from the zoo”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Nice little place I only pop in with my passes and to pass an hr with my little girl .
Would find it an expensive experience otherwise

Staff friendly cafe great overlooking g the sea

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tweetypie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    581
    300
    85
    58
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely little place, worth visiting, especially the penguins :-)”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The penguins were great, loved the ones wandering round! The whole place was lovely, the animals clearly well cared for, the staff happy and chatty and seemed to really love their jobs. Really enjoyed our little walk round, and there was a chance to see feedings and talks and a voucher to return again in 7 days. Good value and enjoyable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a lot to see”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

On a visit to Torquay we visited Living Coasts thinking we would be there for half a day.
It took us less than an hour to walk around. There are a lot of birds as in volume however they are mainly penguins.
They viewing tanks were quite dirty therefore not really able to see much.
For the price of entry I was disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great day out”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Great day out. The centre has lots of view points to watch the penguins, seals and other birds. Lots of feeding times through the day which are really informative. On this occasion, my husband and I visited on our own, but have visited previously with our children. Lots of things for children to do, and an enjoyable day out for adults too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Its a must”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Loved it. Me and my partner went in to have a look as we had a couple of hours to spare and we both enjoyed are visit. Great to get close to the birds and animals and would be great if you have a young family.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Living Coasts also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Living Coasts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing