We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Indian I have had”
Review of Taj India - CLOSED

Taj India
Price range: US$11 - US$19
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Nepalese, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: After the successful trading of Himal Tandoori Nepalese & Indian Restaurant in Paignton; we're opening the doors for new customers in Torquay.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not the best Indian I have had”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The starters was good but the mains my wife and I had were a lot hotter than they usually are in Indian Restaurants
Service was good but a bit slow which actually suited us as we do not like to be rushed.
We booked our meal for seven o clock and we were in there for over an hour and nobody else came in so maybe being this quiet on a Saturday night says something about the place.
The man serving us said they had no bookings for the evening but they seemed to be doing a lot of take aways.
We would not go there again

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    17
    8
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, excellent service”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Fabulous food, tender chicken & lamb, thoroughly enjoyable.
Excellent customer service, attention to detail, cannot recommend enough.
The best Indian food in Torquay

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunning1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Animesh S, Manager at Taj India, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Really appreciate the feedback Gunning1. I'll be sharing this wonderful review with all the members of staff so that they are motivated to please each and every customers with their skills and delicious food.

Animesh Swar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

My husband I were on a weekend break in Torquay and happened to walk by the Tan, the sign outside said bring your own booze so we toddled off to Tesco to get some. Once in restaurant we realised that it is now licensed!Doh!Initially we were a bit worried as the place was empty and it was a Friday night but we were starving so went for it. We were not disappointed the service we received was lovely and we were pleased with the food from the minute the poppadoms and dips arrived as the dips were delicious and tasted really fresh. The starter and mains were equally as fresh and lovely its just a shame we were so full we had to leave some food. It was also a shame it was so quiet on a Friday night but perhaps it is a little out of the way, but it is definitely worth a visit. The only downside is as we don't live in Torquay we cannot return!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Animesh S, Manager at Taj India, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you Michelle for the feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your meal and yes everything you get in our restaurant is fresh. Nothing is ready until we get the orders from you and then its made from the scratch.
In regards to license, yes we are licensed and yes we do let our customers bring their own booze.; only because we cannot cater everyones drinks choices. and people often complain that drinks price in the indian restaurant are over priced.

Shame that you dont live in Torquay, we look forward to see you again when youre back in Torquay again.

Animesh Swar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Devon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I booked this venue for a works get together as it already had good reviews on TripAdviser. I dealt with the Manager via email to arrange the reservation and everything dealt with efficiently and without any hassle. The food (very authentic and well priced) and service were great and all I had was positive feedback from my colleagues which was great as it can often be hard to please everyone. I would definately go again. Thank you

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LawaTorquay_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Animesh S, Manager at Taj India, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your honest and genuine feedback. We here at Taj India starve to satisfy our customers. I remember your visit was just before X-mas and it was a x-mas do.

We look forward to see you and serve you again.

Animesh Swar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really nice and welcoming”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Although we walked past Taj India on our way to town, we had never tried it... So we did as a pre-cinema meal. We certainly didn't regret it since we found the people looking after us really friendly and welcoming. The food was very good and copious, too.
The fact that they are not licensed is a bit of a minus, though, since most will agree that (Indan?) lager is a great accompaniment. Maybe they could make it clear(er) that, as is done in many unlicensed restaurants, you can bring your own for a reasonable 'corkage' charge.
Overall, very positive indeed, with very good although a little indigest food. We will be back to try the Nepalese specialities. Thank you!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AscotHouseHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Animesh S, Manager at Taj India, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you so much for your time and effort on leaving a feedback. i've shared the feedback with the staff and myself as well as the whole Taj India team are happy with seeing the feedback. next time you come here i can promise you'll get the same service and taste you got on your first visit.

In regards to the licensing issue, we were waiting for the approval of the license from the Torbay Council and i'm glad to tell you that we are now a licensed restaurant.

Looking forward to see you soon again.

Animesh Swar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj India also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing