We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place for excellent coffee and cake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daisycakes

Daisycakes
Ranked #2 of 6 Dessert in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place for excellent coffee and cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

What a lovely coffee shop!!!! The cakes are amazing, nice atmosphere and the staff are delightful. The owners are such lovely people. We got looked after very well from the moment we arrived till we left. Absolutely brilliant! Will visit again :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beentherebef0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    7
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Faultless.
The coffee is very tasty and very good quality, value for money.
So much choice in cake and other sweet treats.
I shared a carrot cake and chocolate cake and the portions are soooo generous but more importantly every taste was like heaven!!!!
Good value for money seeing as the quality and quantity are just spot on.
Staff all very pleasant and had a nice atmosphere
Have heard very good things about this place and it lived up to expectation.
One small problem- we did try to visit on a Tuesday and planned a very long walk to build up our appetites - got there and it was closed, couldn't find opening times on the website or the windows. We went on a Saturday instead the next time and it was all good.

Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just the best cake and coffee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

They clearly care about their customers here. There is always a very warm welcome, no-one is hurried, and the quality and choice of their cakes is out of this world. Their coffee is also among the best Ive ever had, and I have been there many times. Go, go, go!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jswillm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Happily, had the chance to pop in at lunchtime as we were in the area. This gave me the chance to try the Hummingbird cake which I have wanted to since first visiting Daisycakes. It was delicious and my wife and I swapped cakes half way through. This meant I tried the salted caramel cake. I can honestly say this was the best cake I have ever tasted. So moist and sweet. Heavenly.
The standards of this excellent little cafe are so high and consistent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ghotine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Addictive ! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Every week I have to visit john and Kate. Lovely warm welcome with cakes to die for and with 9 coffee houses in Torquay this is simply the best coffee you will find in the Bay ! Great passion and hard work makes this a must try ! You will be addicted

Helpful?
2 Thank Jockman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daisycakes also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Daisycakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing