We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and lovely food.”

Tudors Cafe & Delicatessen
Ranked #128 of 338 Restaurants in Torquay
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Relax with a cup of Devon-roasted coffee or a pot of tea in our beautiful Tudor style building with its history of traditional tea rooms since the late 1920s. Join us for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea or a light snack and enjoy our delicious homemade fayre complimented by our warm welcome and hospitality. Savour our delicatessen range from homemade pies to local wines, cheeses and chutneys.Book your party or a special occasion and let us entertain you in our stylish function room.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service and lovely food.”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and myself visited the Tudors bistro and cafe last week, it was late in the afternoon and we got there shortly after the hot food menu had finished. The staff however still made us up a meal without any gripes. The food was well presented and cooked. The food we had was very good VFM. The waiter was very efficient and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely return the next time we are in Babecombe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MICHAEL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellant”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Best meal we had on our 2 day stay in devon would go there again, this place is very clean and tidy and there is alot of space,very comfortable place to dine, and very relaxed atmostphere, great service and politeness.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank IAN562013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Briliant”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

What a delight to see the old building and decor still intact but with modern comforts and menu. A good sign is the number of locals who pop in for lunch...Local produce, well made and presented. good service and most of all spotlessly clean... you are treated by a warm welcome from the owner.. Take away or eat in both are a treat...if your local do take the time to pop in its a gem. If you are visiting the area ...ie:model village or Bygones save time to call in here for a snack or meal you won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank billybear27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Sat outside lovely view and are it was beautiful in the sunshine. Nice restaurant and nice waitress staff. We had a cream tea it was superb x

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Husband and I are always on the lookout for quaint, little teashops and this one seemed to fit the bill when we were visiting Babbacombe recently. There was a good choice of food on the lunch menu and the food on the deli counter looked very appetising too. When we arrived, the cafe was always empty, yet it took a long time to be served. The man and woman who were serving kept apologising for the wait but looked rushed off their feet, they could have done with someone else waiting on. They have craft workshops upstairs and they seemed to be just clearing up after the morning session and having to deal with people who were arriving for the afternoon session. However, once our order was taken, the food arrived very quickly and it was really delicious, I had a quiche and salad which was really lovely and husband had a ploughmans which was a very generous portion. This cafe served one of the best lunches we had all holiday and I would definitely recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank teabag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tudors Cafe & Delicatessen also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Tudors Cafe & Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing