We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“local pub”
Review of Crown and Sceptre

Crown and Sceptre
Ranked #113 of 343 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
torquay
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“local pub”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

a real ale pub that's won many awards..traditional in its approach with a proper 'old fashioned good old days' feel
many awards from camra (campaign for real ale)
fireplace n snug...food served and a beer garden..dogs welcome

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank lisadkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the real deal”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I eat , drink and socialise here regularly. A proper pub, with proper food, proper beer,and proper music. Proper job.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A rarity”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

You'll be hard pushed to find a real traditional english pub these days and I'm so glad I was introduced to this one a few years back. Great real ales and a fantastic atmosphere. I spent one new years eve here and it was by far the best I've had.
TheTeenTour wasn't accurate at all about this pub. It's not dirty at all - it's a pub! Not one of those chain owned establishments who sell sickly novelty drinks alongside some mass produced 'real' ales and the usual lagers, who have the cheek to call themselves pubs. The staff are not rude - they're real people who enjoy banter with their regulars and non-regulars alike. I'd like to be a regular and call this my local but I live a bit far away for that. Despite this the whole Wheeler family and staff have always made me feel really welcome whenever I go in. I'm looking forward to my next visit! Just one word of warning - beware if you're offered a taste of chilli sauce ;-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Bobblebeerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Found this pub friday night whilst dining out in st marys church, lovely atmosphere, friendly staff,and good selection of real ales.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allrrightchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dirty”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

If you like dirty pubs with rude staff this is perfect for you. If you enjoy a friendly chat a nice pint and something good to eat give it a miss

Helpful?
13 Thank TheTeenTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown and Sceptre also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Crown and Sceptre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing